DEV Community

Cover image for I trashed a software website just to reboot it 5 years later!
Jordan Tyler Burchett
Jordan Tyler Burchett

Posted on

I trashed a software website just to reboot it 5 years later!

The Beginning

Since I started into building and programming computers, I’ve loved the concept of free and open source software and I’ve spent a lot of time trying out different ones just to see how they interact, what they can do, and what they can’t. Back in 2011 I felt I had put together a pretty decent list of free software’s that I knew worked well. Playing around one night I decided to build a simple website as a library to display my list more graphically.

The Preparation

I had been building with HTML for almost 6 years at this point and was happy to have another project, but HTML is all I knew and after creating a few download pages one at a time I realized it was going to be a very repetitive and time consuming task and eventually the project got pushed to the side. Not too long after that, I got interested in how to make a search script and stumbled upon a PHP tutorial that broke down MySQL database input and output which opened a whole new world of ideas and possibilities.

PHP intrigued me and after learning more about it, I thought it would be fun to see it in action in a revived software distribution concept I was now calling BlazingSoftware℠. The more I worked on it the more stable and reliable it became, experiencing less and less errors, testing it continuously until April of 2013, it was ready, and I released the first version of BlazingSoftware℠ as a stand alone software library.

The Release

On June 2nd, 2014 I launched my first true online endeavor called Kasic™, which officially adopted BlazingSoftware and premiered it as a subsidiary in its grand opening release. Over the next 5 years BlazingSoftware℠ grew stronger, becoming a pretty steady platform for PHP / MySQL Database Interaction. I added more features to BlazingSoftware and continued testing and fixing errors as I discovered them. In 2017 I decided it was time for a GUI face lift so I completely redesigned the website into the current layout we have now.

The Shutdown

After many years of designing and coding BlazingSoftware's template I decided to shut it down. On August 1st, 2019 Kasic™ made the official announcement that BlazingSoftware had reached its end of life and would be closing. Kasic™ added that though BlazingSoftware will no longer be hosted nor displayed it will live on in future projects that will be created from the ashes of what it once was.

The Present

5 years have passed since BlazingSoftware completely reached its end of life and in that time I’ve experienced multiple project ideas that could have easily been created by using the BlazingSoftware platform as a backbone. I decided to not only revive the project, but also to package it as a proprietary core platform for eGoTech™ development. Today I’m happy to announce the reboot of BlazingSoftware℠ and the debut of its new foundation eT-Core-SDP™ 1.0!

The Future

Now that the 2024 edition of BlazingSoftware℠ has been released the core has been packaged and gifted to my development business eGoTech™. From here eGoTech and I will continue to add features to the platform and use it as a building block for a variety of website types. The system has been converted into one of eGoTech™’s Core Platforms and has been packaged as eT-Core-SDP™, the Software Distribution Platform by eGoTech™, that will be used as a structural base for new and ongoing development for years to come.

Visit BlazingSoftware℠
Visit Kasic™
Visit eGoTech™

Top comments (0)