DEV Community

Jim Segal
Jim Segal

Posted on

31 days of commits complete!

I did it.

Coming into 2020, I wanted to challenge myself to commit every day for the month of January. This was a harder challenge than I thought. I had a lot of ideas coming into the challenge. They kept flowing while I was making things, but I often found that the hard part was the gaining motivation to get into a project after a long day at work. As the process became more routine, it became easier to motivate myself and do more than a few commits a day.

Alt Text

Highlights

Looking through the data, I made 126 commits in 7 different repositories, which calculates down to about 4 commits a day. That's a lot more than what I initially set out to do. My top day was January 19th with 21 commits, I was really jamming out updates that day.

You can check out everything that I did throughout the month on Github. Here are a few examples of the larger projects I did:

  • Added darkmode toggle throughout jimsegal.com and saved it to a cookie.
  • Created a Nodejs api served on Heroku. Check it out at api.jimsegal.com!
    • This allowed me to move a lot of the json data files to a Postgres database.
    • I was also able to have single network requests instead of multiple for my /IsChicagoColderThanAnchorage project.
  • Consolidated a handful of scripts and dotfiles for my multiple computer setup.
  • Added Sentry error logging and Google tagging for more insights into how people use my site.
  • I also started documenting my progress via this blog.

What's next?

I don't think I'll stop coding but I might not be as stringent on how often I code. There are still two bigger projects that are on the docket for February:

  • Move all of the reading list json files to postgres and served from api.jimsegal.com.
  • Create a web version of tic tac toe.

Feedback

Seeing as this is my first Nodejs app, I'm looking for any reviews / comments / critiques on the app as a whole. Comment or shoot me an email about your thoughts. I would love to hear them.

Top comments (0)