DEV Community

Cover image for What should I choose Next.js or Remix?
Juan Vega
Juan Vega

Posted on

What should I choose Next.js or Remix?

I want to rebuild my personal website, and I would like to take this as an opportunity to learn something new.

What should I learn Next.js or Remix?

I am a backend developer with a knee on the frontend, mainly React and Typescript. I don't want to learn Vue or any other framework right now.

I still need to pick a design, so if you have any suggestions.

I will keep sharing here my progress on building it.

Photo by Andres Ayrton from Pexels

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
kentcdodds profile image
Kent C. Dodds

Hey Juan! Have you seen remix.run/blog/remix-vs-next yet?

Hopefully that helps!

Collapse
 
juanvegadev profile image
Juan Vega

I haven't! Thanks for the reference!! 🙇🏽

Collapse
 
marcotraspel profile image
Marco Traspel

I think Kent has a global web crawler looking for "remix" :D haha

Collapse
 
ageekdev profile image
ΛGΣΣK

Next for sure, Remix more like a premium solution.

Collapse
 
juanvegadev profile image
Juan Vega

Interesting point of view!!, could you elaborate a bit more? 🙏🏼

Collapse
 
ageekdev profile image
ΛGΣΣK

If I'm not mistaken Remix was released as paid fullstack solution, then open-source, very similar to Angular as a complete framework.

Collapse
 
josemukorivo profile image
Joseph Mukorivo

I use NextJS, I also want to try remix. There is this portifolio by @kentcdodds github.com/kentcdodds/kentcdodds.com I think you can learn everything about remix there

Collapse
 
juanvegadev profile image
Juan Vega

Cool, it is exactly the same type of project