DEV Community

Julianna Tetreault
Julianna Tetreault

Posted on

I Just Joined the DEV Team

Hi, DEV! πŸ‘‹πŸΌ

My name is Julianna and I am incredibly excited to announce that I have joined the DEV team as an Associate Software Engineer! This will be my second week working with the wonderful team behind DEV and I am thrilled to be here.

My first introduction to DEV was in September of 2018 while I was attending the Flatiron School’s full-stack software engineering bootcamp, but I didn’t seriously start using the platform until October of 2019.

I have been so inspired by the DEV community and cannot wait to give back to the amazing people who make DEV such a special place to be a part of.

About Me

I am an East Coast native currently residing in the mountains of Colorado.

I began as a self-taught programmer, working on open-source software over three years ago and graduated from a full-stack software engineering bootcamp a little over a year and a half ago.

Since graduating, I have primarily worked on the backend of the stack, focusing on Ruby and Rails development and I am currently teaching myself how to program in Python.

When I’m not writing code, I really enjoy reading, running, writing, traveling, and attempting to be a plant mom.

Why DEV?

My resume is eclecticβ€”I am a published writer turned software engineer, making DEV the ultimate intersection of my skills. Being able to do what I love, while still continuing to be immersed in the world of writing is a dream come true.

Coming from a non-traditional background, I cannot overemphasize how important it is to have an inclusive, supportive, and transparent community to learn and grow from, especially when you’re just starting out as a developer.

Open-source software has been a large part of my journey as a developer. I first learned how to program through an open-source community and I began contributing (albeit, very minimally) to open-source within my first few months of programming. The open-source community was what made me feel comfortable as a new developer and helped me grow into the software engineer that I am today. Giving back to the community that gave so much to me is something I hold near-and-dear to my heart.

I am so dedicated to making sure that I do my part in maintaining what makes DEV the amazing platform that it is.

If you have questions, tips on how to care for succulents, or just want to get in touch, feel free to message me or email me (julianna@dev.to)! πŸ‘©πŸ»β€πŸ’»

Top comments (29)

Collapse
 
katnel20 profile image
Katie Nelson

Welcome Julianna. It's great to see more women who code here!

Collapse
 
juliannatetreault profile image
Julianna Tetreault

Thanks so much, Katie! I'm happy to be here. 😊

Collapse
 
peter profile image
Peter Kim Frank

Welcome to the team! We are delighted to have you join us.

As an English major and aspirational writer, I'm especially excited to talk about all of that with you whenever you have some time to step away away from the codebase.

Collapse
 
juliannatetreault profile image
Julianna Tetreault

Thank you, Peter!

I am also looking forward to speaking with you about writing and picking your brain. 😁

Collapse
 
iteachfrontend profile image
iteachfrontend

Congratulations and Welcome Julianna!!

Collapse
 
juliannatetreault profile image
Julianna Tetreault

Thank you! I'm so happy to be here. 😁

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

So awesome to have you on the team @juliannatetreault !

Jawesome!

Collapse
 
juliannatetreault profile image
Julianna Tetreault

Thanks, Nick!

I am so excited to learn from you all. 😁

Collapse
 
jacobherrington profile image
Jacob Herrington (he/him)

Collapse
 
aweysahmed profile image
Aweys Ahmed

Congratulations. Dev is such an amazing platform.

Collapse
 
juliannatetreault profile image
Julianna Tetreault

Thanks! I agree. 😁

Collapse
 
joshpuetz profile image
Josh Puetz

Welcome Julianna!!!

Collapse
 
juliannatetreault profile image
Julianna Tetreault

Thanks so much, Josh!

Collapse
 
pzzdvd profile image
Davide Pizzoli

Congrats Julianna!

Collapse
 
juliannatetreault profile image
Julianna Tetreault

Thank you, Davide!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

So great to have you on the team, Julianna! I hope you dig it here. πŸ˜€

Collapse
 
juliannatetreault profile image
Julianna Tetreault

Thank you, Michael! I have no doubt that I'll dig it. 😎

Collapse
 
harrison_codes profile image
Harrison Reid

Congrats Julianna! πŸ₯³

Collapse
 
juliannatetreault profile image
Julianna Tetreault

Thank you so much, Harrison!

Collapse
 
pp profile image
PaweΕ‚ Ludwiczak

Whoop whoooop whooooop! Congrats! :)

Collapse
 
juliannatetreault profile image
Julianna Tetreault

Thank you, PaweΕ‚! 😁

Collapse
 
andy profile image
Andy Zhao (he/him)

So stoked to work together!! 🎊🎊🎊

Collapse
 
juliannatetreault profile image
Julianna Tetreault

Same here, Andy! πŸ₯³

Collapse
 
morobi05634339 profile image
Morobi

Welcome JuliannaπŸ™‚

Collapse
 
juliannatetreault profile image
Julianna Tetreault

Thank you! πŸŽ‰

Collapse
 
pandiyancool profile image
Pandiyan Murugan

Congrats have a great time

Collapse
 
juliannatetreault profile image
Julianna Tetreault

Thanks so much!

Collapse
 
silampawar profile image
SamP

Congratulations Julianna!

Collapse
 
juliannatetreault profile image
Julianna Tetreault

Thank you so much!