DEV Community

jun
jun

Posted on

What was your first laptop/pc for your programming job?

My first was my own 12-inch Macbook which I brought it before I decided to go for programming. Sooo, it survived for the Bootcamps and some small freelance works for me. Then soon I'm using the work laptop on 13-inch Macbook Pro.

Alt text of image

Many of my co-workers in the company actually switch from macOS to Windows Linux. I am still considering switching for how amazing processer and the RAM they have.

What about you? What's your first working laptop or laptop devices provided by your company?

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
chenxeed profile image
Albert Mulia Shintra

In 2010 when Cloud Computing is a new trend, my first company gave me a low spec PC with Windows XP. Super laggy and takes forever just to boot.

Yet I can still work fine, because they told me to use the PC to remote desktop a VM with a high spec to do my job.

Collapse
 
caelinsutch profile image
caelinsutch

First desktop I got specifically for work is my current one, I call it the beast. i9 9900, RTX 2080, 32gb RAM. Easily eats through 6k RAW video footage (I do video as well), and can train Tensorflow models insanely quickly. I dual boot, so I spend most of my time in Linux, Windows programming makes me cringe.

Collapse
 
hcamacho4200 profile image
Henry Camacho

Not really a laptop more a luggable the IBM P-70. An awesome machine