DEV Community

Emanuele Bartolesi
Emanuele Bartolesi

Posted on • Updated on

Top 5 Themes for Visual Studio Code

My editor choice is Visual Studio Code since the first beta release.
I like personalize everything in my editor and Visual Studio Code is perfect in this way.

Here I will show my Top 5 favourite Visual Studio Code theme.

Night Owl

One of the best theme for Visual Studio Code (and others editor!!!).
This is my current theme for work.

Winter is Coming

Developed by John Papa from Microsoft, I love it.

Shades of Purple

Well documented and professional theme. Awesome!

Rainglow

Many color themes!!! Try it!

Noctis

My second favourite theme, after Night Owl.
This is the best to relax your eyes after a long working day.

Plus

Power Mode

It's not a real theme, but I like this effect when I have a presentation or a demo with customer. :)

Top comments (22)

Collapse
 
mkuehnel profile image
Michael Kühnel • Edited

Don’t forget the »Relaxed Theme« 😘

Screenshot

github.com/Relaxed-Theme

Collapse
 
jwalzak profile image
Jason Walzak

I use Night Owl.
It's really nice.

Before Night Owl was a theme I used Cobalt 2 when it got ported to VSCode from Sublime text.

marketplace.visualstudio.com/items...

Collapse
 
terabytetiger profile image
Tyler V. (he/him)

Ever since @aspittel posted this article I've been a Fairy Floss convert. The only change I've made is making the highlight background color Deep Pink so that it pops out better to my eye.

Collapse
 
aspittel profile image
Ali Spittel

Love fairly floss! so pretty!

Collapse
 
kasuken profile image
Emanuele Bartolesi

ah wow.
Interesting article.
I missed it.

Collapse
 
somedood profile image
Basti Ortiz • Edited

I personally fell in love with Atom's One Dark theme, which is why the first thing I did upon switching to VS Code was to install the One Dark Pro extension. I don't see myself changing themes any time soon (or ever).

Collapse
 
kasuken profile image
Emanuele Bartolesi

yes, also Atom is one of the best theme!

Collapse
 
somedood profile image
Basti Ortiz

I just love how friendly and bubbly it looks.

Collapse
 
gulajavaministudio profile image
Gulajava Ministudio

demo image
demo image

For theme and font, i'm using Mayukai Theme and Iosevka Mayukai Font . You can try that too.

Collapse
 
luxcium profile image
Benjamin Vincent

Hey Hello, Experts !!!

I would like to have a reviewer (many?) for my color theme because I only did the TypeScript/Javascript Syntax ... (the CSS should be improved) I am not good at Ruby, Python the C families (C# & C/C++) and all the other languages I am not sure to exist ...

Reach me on Twitter @Luxcium

You can look into it on GitHub: "Pop N' Lock Theme by Luxcium ✨"

The Theme is available in the VS Code market place


Give me your impressions and please send me screen captures of your favorite language with my theme... (don't do like I did below... don't do a screen capture of something confidential ...)

TypeScript example

You probably want to see a screen capture of the Theme and syntax ... there you go:

I am working on something ultra confidential its something super sensitive with the credential data and stuff ... Don't show that to anyone ...

Questrade-ts

Collapse
 
thehasu profile image
Mridha Rashidul Islam

Night Owl is really awesome. Which font you are using with night owl?

Collapse
 
dlyling profile image
Lingyun (Lynn) Dai

with italic

Collapse
 
varunalex profile image
Varuna Eeriyaulla

If you like high contrast bluish theme : marketplace.visualstudio.com/items... 😋

Collapse
 
phone profile image
Kyle A. Matheny

I'm a big Cobalt2 fan. I've seen a lot of people advocating for Shades of Purple lately. I'll have to try out some of these to see if they work better for me (dethrowning Cobalt2).

Collapse
 
lesnock profile image
Caio Lesnock

What font is used in Noctis theme?

Collapse
 
subramn profile image
subramn

Thank you so much. which font are you using in the attached theme , just curious to know.

Collapse
 
sshpanel profile image
sshpanel

BTW what font are used on the Night Owl template?

Collapse
 
kasuken profile image
Emanuele Bartolesi

Fira Code

Collapse
 
philiplambok profile image
Philip Lambok

How about cobalt2? github.com/wesbos/cobalt2

Collapse
 
kasuken profile image
Emanuele Bartolesi

I really like it. 😊

Collapse
 
saumen95 profile image
Saumen

Rainglow here..also love material ocean and noctis

Collapse
 
aleksit0 profile image
Alex • Edited

Hi. What's the font and the theme here: dev-to-uploads.s3.amazonaws.com/i/...