DEV Community

kethmars
kethmars

Posted on • Updated on

Share your portfolio - I'll review it in a video

When I started developing websites about ten years ago, one of the hardest things was to get someone else's opinion for my pages.

That's why I'm now trying to help others out by reviewing their portfolios. Just post the link to your page and I'll review it during a live stream in YT.

Some of the things I'll take a look at:

  • site speed
  • SEO
  • design and UX
  • content

//EDIT

The reviews are visible in this Youtube playlist:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mX_LrXEUecc&list=PL4gMAGIXQXfvRWZt2n1u_jLwSGd-Ogvi4


Oh and...! If you are interested in coding, growth mindset and are willing to share your experiences, ideas, then please do PM me on Twitter :)!

DeveloperHabits
📷 Youtube: developerHabits
👉 Twitter: https://twitter.com/developerHabits
👉 IG: https://www.instagram.com/developerhabits

Top comments (158)

Collapse
 
jz222 profile image
Timo Zimmermann

Here you go 🙏🏽

Collapse
 
kethmars profile image
kethmars • Edited

Hey Timo!

Firstly, thank you for posting!

I created a video where I reviewed your portfolio:
youtu.be/mX_LrXEUecc (you can use the timestamps in the description to get to your review)

The design- wow!
In general, I love the design and structure. It's a good example of what a developer's portfolio should be about.

There are some minor things I'd change, so please do let me know what you think :). That way I can improve my feedback skills and help others.

Collapse
 
jz222 profile image
Timo Zimmermann

Hey Keth,

thanks for the review and the feedback! I definitely agree with you and I will see if I can come up with something shorter.

By the way, I would like to get in touch with you because of something else. If you like, please send me an email. :)

Thanks!

Collapse
 
maxpou profile image
Maxence Poutord

nice one 👏

Collapse
 
jz222 profile image
Timo Zimmermann

Thanks, Max!

Collapse
 
nbull92 profile image
NBull92

Wow that's a fantastic looking portfolio site

Collapse
 
jz222 profile image
Timo Zimmermann

Thank you :)

Collapse
 
chingaipe profile image
Alick Chinga

Nice.. taking design cues from here

Collapse
 
rishabk7 profile image
Rishab Kumar

Here you go
rishabkumar.ga

Collapse
 
kethmars profile image
kethmars

Hey Sir!

Thanks for the request!

I created a video where I reviewed your portfolio:
youtu.be/mX_LrXEUecc (you can use the timestamps in the description to get to your review)

I believe it's a nice portfolio - you have your skills and works brought out. Design wise, it's solid. Could maybe create bigger contrast between colors as Adam commented. I would also consider changing the structure of blocks.

Please do let me know your thoughts and if I should improve something in the way I commented the page :)!

Collapse
 
rishabk7 profile image
Rishab Kumar

Thank you so much! I will work on some enhancements and will submit it again on some future reviews.
You got a sub

Thread Thread
 
kethmars profile image
kethmars

Ooh! Thank you and I'm happy you found it useful!

Thread Thread
 
rishabk7 profile image
Rishab Kumar

I just made a simple one now!
rishabkumar.com

Thread Thread
 
kethmars profile image
kethmars

It looks nice ;)!

You can try adding some border-radius for images.

Collapse
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett 🌀

I dig it but one thing, your menu text could be higher contrast.

Collapse
 
rishabk7 profile image
Rishab Kumar

Thanks for the feedback, will make some changes!

Collapse
 
coolrocks profile image
Anant Rungta

Here is mine - run-coupon.herokuapp.com/
I also have a Youtube Channel, in which I discuss tutorials, and react.js projects SEO, SSR.
Please check it out and maybe we can collaborate on something.

Video : youtube.com/watch?v=66owdRkc8pI
Channel : youtube.com/c/CodersLifeSimplified

Collapse
 
kethmars profile image
kethmars • Edited

Hey Anant!

Thanks for posting!

I created a video where I reviewed your portfolio:
youtu.be/mX_LrXEUecc (you can use the timestamps in the description to get to your review)

I didn't go too deep into that page because it's not a portfolio, but I did mention some of the things you can improve :). If you have any thoughts regarding my feedback/would like to discuss it further, do let me know.

Collapse
 
coolrocks profile image
Anant Rungta

Thanks, just checking it out.

Collapse
 
kethmars profile image
kethmars

Hey! It's awesome what you're doing in YT! Keep it up! Consider me subscribed :)!

Collapse
 
coolrocks profile image
Anant Rungta

Thanks. Glad you loved it.

Collapse
 
guptasurajm profile image
Suraj Gupta

Here is mine surajg.pythonanywhere.com

Collapse
 
kethmars profile image
kethmars

Hey hey :) ! Thanks for the submissions!

I reviewed your page. You can see the result here:
youtu.be/BKBDuGjoR0I

Please do let me know your thoughts...Overall - great job. Love the design of the page!

Collapse
 
guptasurajm profile image
Suraj Gupta

Thank you so much!! for your review and yeah i agree on your points for work page.
I will do some enhancements on that page.
Again thanks for reviewing it.

Collapse
 
marcoaigner profile image
Marco Aigner

I love the way you greet the user and introduce yourself!
As if you were chatting with him/her in real-time.

Collapse
 
guptasurajm profile image
Suraj Gupta • Edited

Thanks ✌️❤️ @Marco Aigner

Collapse
 
akinleyejoshua profile image
Joshua • Edited

if there be any error am making kindly tell me thanks
akinleyejoshua-portfolio.netlify.app

Collapse
 
kethmars profile image
kethmars

Hey hey :) ! Thanks for the submissions!

I reviewed your page. You can see the result here:
youtu.be/BKBDuGjoR0I

I believe you can improve the design of the page. That said, it has the necessary information that I'd expect from a portfolio :)! Keep up the work!

Plz also let me know your thoughts.

Collapse
 
akinleyejoshua profile image
Joshua

Oh thanks for the feed back, i am still working on the portfolio for better improvement....

Collapse
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett 🌀

Your cover image looks a bit squished up on my phone.

Collapse
 
akinleyejoshua profile image
Joshua

Oh yes am still fixing some issues
Thanks

Collapse
 
itsabdessalam profile image
Abdessalam Benharira

Here is mine abdessalam.dev/
Thanks in advance.

Collapse
 
kethmars profile image
kethmars

Hey!

Thank you for making me read French :D!

My review can be seen in the following video:
youtube.com/watch?v=BKBDuGjoR0I

I really liked the design and the content of the page - a great example of a good portfolio.

Collapse
 
itsabdessalam profile image
Abdessalam Benharira

Thanks! 😊

Collapse
 
kethmars profile image
kethmars

Oh wow! I didn't expect so many replies :D! Thank you, people! I'll start making the streams next week and will post them also in dev.to.

Collapse
 
akdeberg profile image
Anik Khan

Loved the YT channel of yours. Subbed..Keep it up😍

Collapse
 
kethmars profile image
kethmars

Oh wow, thank you Anik :)!

Is there anything special you can bring out that I can focus on?

Collapse
 
akdeberg profile image
Anik Khan

So far you seem calm and quite good at noticing the small details which is cool. I will continue to watch closely few more to give some in-depth feedback 😊

Collapse
 
ajwadshaikh profile image
Ajwad Shaikh

Hey @kethmars , thanks in advance!

My portfolio is up at ajwad-shaikh.github.io

The design is not mine, but I have tried to add my touch with the content and some tweaks.

Thanks!

Collapse
 
kethmars profile image
kethmars

Hey Ajwad!
Thanks for the submission!

My review: youtube.com/watch?v=BKBDuGjoR0I

That portfolio was just super super dope! Great job!
I didn't know the design wasn't yours, but hey...it's your portfolio and it looks great!

Collapse
 
mazentouati profile image
Mazen Touati

Here's is mine sunchayn.github.io/old. It's marked as old and kinda outdated as I'm planning to make a new portfolio. It would be great to see how you would review it. It would be a reference for me to see what's working and what's not working for my next portfolio. Thanks!

Collapse
 
kethmars profile image
kethmars

Hey Mazen :)! Thank you for the submission.

I reviewed your portfolio in my YT video. Please do let me know what you think :)!
I loved the design!

Link:
youtu.be/RVyihb5WtyQ

Collapse
 
mazentouati profile image
Mazen Touati

Hi Keth, I really enjoyed your review. Your points were a spot on specially for the about section. I'll absolutely consider them for the next sprint. It was fun watching live reaction for the blue screen of death at the end 😁

Thread Thread
 
kethmars profile image
kethmars

I'm glad I could be help of :)!

And yea, I just looooved that screen of death at the end :D !

Collapse
 
smadil profile image
Sheik Mohammed Adil

Here's my portfolio: smadil.co

Collapse
 
kethmars profile image
kethmars

Hello Sir :)! Thank you so much for the submission!

I have reviewed your website!
youtube.com/watch?v=ARKWHWyxHew

Please let me know what you think and if you agree/disagree :)! And if the content of this video(or others in my channel) are something you find useful, please do subscribe.

Collapse
 
smadil profile image
Sheik Mohammed Adil • Edited

Hey @kethmars , fixed the performance issue ⭐
lighthouse score

Thread Thread
 
kethmars profile image
kethmars

Great job!!!

Collapse
 
smadil profile image
Sheik Mohammed Adil

Thanks a lot for your review, I appreciate your feedback. Will work on that performance issue

Collapse
 
cchana profile image
Charanjit Chana

Late to the party, but what a great idea. You can find mine here. Thanks in advance :)

Collapse
 
kethmars profile image
kethmars

Hey hey! Simple and beautiful!

I reviewed the portfolio in following video:
youtu.be/U5lnE-MKumk

Please do let me know if I've provided any useful info and if you agree/disagree. Thank you!

Collapse
 
cchana profile image
Charanjit Chana

Thank you for taking the time to review my portfolio and for the kind words. I'll look into the accessibility issues Lighthouse flagged. I'm pretty sure I know what it's complaining about and it can easily be fixed.

As for the content & layout, my philosophy has always been to make the content king, as you mentioned. It's the same principle I applied to the page with my experience and to my blog.

I've wanted to write a regular blog for a long time, but never found the right formula that worked for me and got me posting things regularly. One day, I came up with the concept of 1 Thing A Week and almost 3 years later, I'm still blogging! I wrote about some of my thinking for week 74. I would highly recommend this approach for blogging or even for any project you might be thinking of tackling. Just set aside a bit of time to do 1 thing each week and before you know it those 'weeks' of effort will turn into something! Even 1 thing a month if a week is too frequent. It just gives you a repeatable target.

I commented on this recently:

Bizarrely, I've made more progress since having kids than before! But when say more progress, I mean I've completed two small projects in three years :D

One of them does require weekly input so I just set aside a couple of hours on a Sunday to take care of that.

For both projects (and other unfinished ones), it was just about getting started. Even an hour a week was more than enough for me to see tangible progress. Didn't take long for me to want to get it to a releasable, if not finished, state.

It is hard with kids, and at every step they need different types of attention which can take a lot of energy. But as I said, my advice would be to just get started. No matter how small that start is, you'll only be building on top of it going forward. Good luck!

Thread Thread
 
cchana profile image
Charanjit Chana

As I suspected, it was a some secondary text that was impacting the accessibility score. I didn't want to remove it so I removed the opacity property and it's passing again so it now shows 100 across the board 🎉

Thread Thread
 
kethmars profile image
kethmars

Awesome and I'm glad you fixed it! Keep up the good work!

Collapse
 
devbrx24 profile image
DevBriX

Here's mine😄 brixgavarra.netlify.app/

Collapse
 
merichard123 profile image
Richard

I love the feel of this, just something tiny, on your project section your links are the opposite way round the eye goes to GitHub and the GitHub logo goes to the site. Other than that I really like it. 😁

Collapse
 
devbrx24 profile image
DevBriX

Thanks you Sir😊.

Collapse
 
kethmars profile image
kethmars

Hey hey :)!

I have reviewed your website!
youtube.com/watch?v=ARKWHWyxHew

Please do let me know what you think and if you like to content, you can also subscribe (blush) :D !

Collapse
 
devbrx24 profile image
DevBriX

Thank you for reviewing my portfolio. I really appreciate your effort😊. I will update the content of my website.

Collapse
 
soumyajit4419 profile image
Soumyajit Behera
Collapse
 
kethmars profile image
kethmars • Edited

Hey Sir!

Thanks for the request!

I created a video where I reviewed your portfolio:
youtu.be/mX_LrXEUecc (you can use the timestamps in the description to get to your review)

Content wise, it's a nice portfolio and I got what I was after. I believe you can improve the design and UX. Do let me know what you think about the review - do you agree/disagree with something?

Collapse
 
soumyajit4419 profile image
Soumyajit Behera

Thanks for the review sir.
I will surely update my portfolio,according to your sugessions.

Collapse
 
jeffjadulco profile image
Jeff Jadulco

Adding mine! jeffjadulco.com

Collapse
 
kethmars profile image
kethmars

Hey Jeff!

It's a super beautiful portfolio you have. Love it!
I have reviewed your portfolio here:
youtube.com/watch?v=crbHp_7psNY

Let me know what you think, do you agree/disagree and if there's something I can improve in my reviews.
Also, if you find my channel's content useful, please subscribe ;)!

Collapse
 
jeffjadulco profile image
Jeff Jadulco

Wow, thanks! Didn't know I'd make it to the list. Subscribed! More power to your channel :)