DEV Community

Cover image for The Base and Rotation
Kevin Palma
Kevin Palma

Posted on

The Base and Rotation

YOO, WHAT is up guys.

I don't know if you remember the base I made in the second post. Well, I 3D printed that one (Image 1), and it was an okay base overall, but it wasn't deep enough. I made some tweaks to this base. I used the SolidEdit function and chose to stretch the top part of this object. This made it lengthier in the Z direction, which is what I wanted. I also used the fillet edge function to make the sides a bit curvier(Image 2).

Image description(Image 1)

Image description(image 2)

I also wanted to add a feature to this turret. I wanted to add a camera to detect the faces of people and determine who it would shoot. It will be shooting these yellowish Nerf balls, so I need some sort of place to store them. The round diameter is about 14.5 mm(Image 3). I have linked a YouTube video for all the specs on the balls I will be using.

Image description(Image 3)

Youtube video:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vaA_xTaRa7I&t=135s

I was also coming up with some ideas on how to proceed with getting the thing to start turning. I plan to design and 3D print another part to facilitate the turret's movement. I want to really get all these pieces first before programming and really making progress on this.

My next step will be making some gears and hopefully not messing up too badly. But AYY F**K it, we ball. Still quite a long way from the finished product.

Image description

But that is a sneak peek of what is in store. For now, the biggest question is making IT ROTATE. I need this thing to be able to do a 360. So, time to start throwing ideas and just running it down main.

Well, this is the update I have so far, and next time, hopefully, I am able to solve this whole rotating problem. Thank you once again for reading this, and if y'all have any ideas, comment them down below.

Top comments (0)