DEV Community

Cover image for An app I built now has 10,000 acquisitions!!
Daniel
Daniel

Posted on

An app I built now has 10,000 acquisitions!!

In 2019, I released a new app called Nightingale, the RAM-friendly REST client for developers. It uses 50MB while other REST clients use 500MB. And today, I'm pleased to share that Nightingale surpassed 10,000 unique acquisitions!

Incredible milestone, and I'm humbled by everyone's feedback and support. Can't wait to see what milestones will be broken in 2020! ๐ŸŽ‰

If you're a developer, check out Nightingale here: https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/p/nightingale-rest-api-client/9n2t6f9f5zdn

Top comments (12)

Collapse
 
chingiz profile image
Chingiz Huseynzade

Congratulations! Do you have any plans of building it for linux, macOS?

Collapse
 
chin7an profile image
Chintan Patel • Edited

I'd highly recommend Paw for macOS. Have been using it for a number of years for work and personal development.

Coincidentally, I discovered Nightingale via Twitter & Scott Hanselman when trying to find Windows alternatives to my favorite mac dev tools. Really amazing tool in the Windows developer's toolset. The platform badly needs such high-quality native tools to catch up to macOS. Keep up the good work! ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ

Collapse
 
kid_jenius profile image
Daniel

That's awesome you heard about Nightingale from Scott! I remember when he retweeted about Nightingale and I nearly fainted!

Collapse
 
kid_jenius profile image
Daniel

Thank you! No plans for Linux yet, and for Mac, I wanted to port Nightingale. But Mac devices are expensive and I don't have the budget for one. Perhaps one day!

Collapse
 
Sloan, the sloth mascot
Comment deleted
Collapse
 
kid_jenius profile image
Daniel

I feel like you're stealing my thunder ๐Ÿ˜ญ I'm just sharing my excitement for a personal project I created. I'm not asking anyone to use it. I'm not trying to start a competition. Just sharing my celebration ๐Ÿ˜ญ

Collapse
 
cadams profile image
Chad Adams

Sorry lol I'll delete my message :)

Collapse
 
fanchgadjo profile image
Francois K

Congratulations ! It looks good. Same question : any plans for a linux version ? What is the tech behind it ?

Collapse
 
kid_jenius profile image
Daniel

Thanks! Nightingale is written in C# and XAML for optimal performance. No plans for Linux yet, but hopefully some time in the future!

Collapse
 
fanchgadjo profile image
Francois K

Thank you for your reply.

Collapse
 
samuelmunoz profile image
Samuel Munoz

Amazing tool!

Any plans to open source whole or parts of it?

Collapse
 
kid_jenius profile image
Daniel

Yes! There are plans to open source Nightingale's core! Keep an eye out for this repo: github.com/jenius-apps/nightingale...