DEV Community

Cover image for Teaching Secondary School Girls To Code - My Experience
Ada Nduka Oyom
Ada Nduka Oyom

Posted on

Teaching Secondary School Girls To Code - My Experience

At the start of the year 2017, i made a year long Goal in which one of them was to be able to give back to the Tech community by laying impact on the lives of young girls around me.

Being an advocate for Girl Tech-education and Women-in-Tech,together with my love for writing code, my participation in Women-In-Tech focused events (both as a participant and organizer) and running my Organisation “She Code Africa”. I choose to start up on one of the goals(stated above) by teaching and mentoring young girls to code (for free) starting out from those in secondary school.

I specifically choose the secondary school category as i felt they made up a larger part of the group classified as the “Grass root”, Giving them an opportunity to learn to code at a young age gave greater and higher chances at them selecting a STEM related course in college/University, and in future have them take up more roles in STEM fields and finally bridging the gender gap in Technology. I had decided to name my Project “SUMMER PROJECT since it was going to run all through the summer holiday.

Without much talk, i will share some of the pictures from the training:

alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text

To read more about how the event went, my experience, lessons and overall impact on the ladies, click here

I hope to turn this into a quarterly event with more sponsors and a bigger team, expand into more centers across Nigeria and Africa,I'm always open to sponsorship talks, if you need more information about the next event or how you can help please leave a comment below and I'll be more than glad to reach out.

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
geraldchioke profile image
Chioke Gerald Ikenna

Well done Ada. You're doing great!

Collapse
 
kolokodess profile image
Ada Nduka Oyom

Thank you

Collapse
 
lpasqualis profile image
Lorenzo Pasqualis

Wonderful! I am a very active advocate for women in tech, and also a huge fan of finding ways to teach young people to code. This post is inspiring! Thank you.

Collapse
 
kolokodess profile image
Ada Nduka Oyom

I'm glad you're inspired

Collapse
 
andy profile image
Andy Zhao (he/him)

Awesome stuff!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

This is great 😊

Collapse
 
ruannawrites profile image
Ruanna

Love this so much – keep up the great work!