DEV Community

Kristen Kinnear-Ohlmann
Kristen Kinnear-Ohlmann

Posted on • Originally published at kristenkinnearohlmann.dev

JavaScriptmas 2021

The JavaScriptmas challenge is what started it all! In 2020, I took a chance with my elementary JS knowledge to tackle the Scrimba 202 JavaScriptmas challenges, even though I had not yet started that learning path in my Flatiron program. Although I had to do quite a lot of Google searches to complete those challenges, I remember learning a lot and feeling more capable than I had imaged I would.

I'm excited to participate in this year's challenges! With my Flatiron program complete, I am enjoying the ability to knock the initial challenges out quickly while expecting to be challenged along the way. I will continue to add daily to this blog until all 24 days are complete.

December 1: https://scrimba.com/scrim/coa0745819274e27680de0c0d

I'm glad I clicked early because the submission time is midnight GMT! Even though I have gained a vast amount of experience since last year, I was still afraid to get started. Until I did - then it was like "Hey, great! A nice easy warm-up!" I was able to run through the brute force-more elegant cycle really quickly and get the solution working. Day 1 done!

December 2: https://scrimba.com/scrim/coad94b89bad0a3d7107383f9

I listened to the introduction before running upstairs to rescue my burning cast iron frying pan (Oops! Forgot I turned on the stove!). While running, I realized the solution to this challenge was adding an event listener, something I had to Google and struggled with last year, but this year could write up quickly without even thinking of any of the syntax too hard. I may sweep back to pick up the challenge portion but at this point, I have a quick working solution.

December 3: https://scrimba.com/scrim/co2cc4e3a8c873d98ca22cdc1

I ran into some trouble starting this one - I needed to back out and logically think through where I was putting things into the code. I kept it really basic but I got it completed. It was similar to December 2, in that the challenge was to update an existing page with new information, so I grabbed a few emoji to jazz up my work.

December 4: https://scrimba.com/scrim/co84f459c95515b0102050ae2
The challenge today was to create a checklist from an array of items. I had my initial moment of "hey, how do I do this?" before I was able to knock out the basic challenge. I would normally try to complete the stretch goals on a weekend, but my rehearsal went long today and I have a commitment tonight. Perhaps tomorrow I can give them all a try!

December 5: https://scrimba.com/scrim/coe4c492f82ca2bcd19f2e8ed
I missed posting before midnight GMT because I didn't get the challenge done before church and I had an evening concert. I went ahead and completed it to ensure I get all days done! This was a nice little refreshed on how to perform getting a random number.

Top comments (0)