DEV Community

Cover image for Thunder Fox: I recreated the first game I played in JavaScript
Matheus do Livramento
Matheus do Livramento

Posted on

Thunder Fox: I recreated the first game I played in JavaScript

Hello everybody! Today I wish to share a project that I'm really proud of: I recreated one of the first games that I played in JavaScript.

The game in question is Thunder Fox, from Mega Drive, that was released back in 1991. The original game is a "beat-em-up". However, on my JS version I turned it into a fighting game, like Street Fighter and Mortal Kombat.

The character roster is made out of the main protagonists and some of the bosses that you had to face in the original Thunder Fox. I also added a new character, which is a palette swap (which was very common thing back in the day). It is also worth mentioning, that I developed every character to be unique: some are faster and have low damage, some are slower but hit harder and some are balanced. Lastly, there is a stage select that also brings back the soundtrack from the OG game.

Character Select Screen As you can see, the character select screen is inspired by Street Fighter 2

I was also originally intending to have an "Online Multiplayer" and an "Arcade" mode, but as I needed to shift my focus away from this project, this version was released only with a "Local Versus" game mode.

Gameplay Every fighter has four different moves

Please, don't go play the game thinking that it is a masterpiece! The product in its current state still lacks more content and may also have minor bugs. Anyways, feel free to take a look and leave your feedback!

So, that is it! I was really proud of the final product and wanted to show it to you guys. Thanks!

Repository:
https://github.com/livramatheus/thunder-fox-arena

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
cicirello profile image
Vincent A. Cicirello

Looks cool. I never played the original game so I don't know how it compares. But it looks good.

Collapse
 
livramatheus profile image
Matheus do Livramento

Thanks for your feedback! The original game is actually not very popular like Steets of Rage or Final Fight, but is a really solid game.