DEV Community

Cover image for About My Boss...
Lorenzo Zarantonello
Lorenzo Zarantonello

Posted on

About My Boss...

I came across this piece by Adam Grant.

Image description

So far, I was lucky enough to change several bosses a.k.a line managers, people leaders, etc.

The Good

The good part of changing many leaders is seeing extremely different leadership styles, or management styles. Not many are leaders.

The Bad

The bad part is that you won't like every single style.

I happened to work with a person who tried to micromanage me.
It sucks. For the first time, I literally felt physical pain in anticipation of meeting that person.

You know when you read about micromanagement in books? They mostly agree on saying that micromanaging isn't great.

The Learning

Experiencing it on my skin was a whole different story!
I hated every single moment I spent with that person. Physically or virtually.
But the experience taught me a lot. If not avoiding it altogether, I can handle it better next time.

That was the case of a selfish boss.

I was lucky enough to work with supportive bosses. That is a whole different story, and I encourage you to strive to find one.

"They promote your growth and well-being" is not just a marketing slogan.

People First

If there is a list of things I look forward to in a job, a supportive boss and a nice team ranks pretty high. They make your life 100 times better.

This is what I can say from my experience so far.

What did you learn from the bosses you had?

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

The good bosses are more memorable and the bad bosses just leave a bad taste in your mouth when you think about them imo 😂

Collapse
 
lorenzojkrl profile image
Lorenzo Zarantonello

Ahaha well said!