DEV Community

Miguel Piedrafita
Miguel Piedrafita

Posted on • Updated on

A code community, but not for you

đź‘‹ Hi! I'm Miguel Piedrafita, a 16-year-old developer. I discovered coding three years ago, and since then it has become a passion more than a hobby.

I love to talk to other developers of my age, and although I've only met other three, I've noticed we all have the same problem: our friends are not usually interested in code.

There are other code communities like freeCodeCamp, but while searching, I couldn't find one focused on teenagers, so I decided to start one.

Then, CoderYouth was born. The only community (at least, the only one I know) that has a maximum allowed age, that is, only people under 20 can register.

So, why am I writing this? To ask you for your help.

Some of you have children, and probably some of them like to code. The only thing you need to do is to link them to CoderYouth.

Thank you, and happy coding!

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
karsens profile image
Karsens

This is such a great idea. I was 12 when I started coding and until I was 19 I didn't really have other coder-friends. Now I'm 24 so unfortunately I can't join anymore! :( But great idea, Miguel! I'm sure it'll be a success. Hope you can find a way to reach everyone.

Collapse
 
commandcoder_10 profile image
Jip⚡️

What a great idea! I can totally relate to not having any friends who are interested in coding, too!