DEV Community

Cover image for Is it worth to cross-post on Hackernoon in 2021?
Madza
Madza

Posted on

Is it worth to cross-post on Hackernoon in 2021?

I've cross-posted a couple of articles on Hackernoon, just to see the idea of the platform and how it works.

I got concerned about the following reasons:

  • No API to automate the process;
  • Entirely different editor (compared to ones you see in DEV and Hashnode), that needs a lot of manual tweaking;
  • I find the platform to be slow, takes around 5 secs to log in and another 5 secs to start writing (on a good connection);
  • After submitting you go through up to 2 weeks waiting time, during which the editors of the site manually edit your article before publishing.

On the other hand, the platform still holds quite an amount of readers, and the articles got well distributed by their social media strategy.

Thus the discussion, do you think it is still worth cross-posting your content on Hackernoon in 2021?

Top comments (24)

Collapse
 
highcenburg profile image
Vicente G. Reyes

There's too much editing needed for Hackernoon in my experience. I abandoned one article I wrote last year because Hackernoon was the last platform I cross-posted the article and it needed a lot of editing.

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

Yup I've waited for a couple of weeks to get editing done from them 😉
And once they published it I saw they took it down some time after, did some edits again, and re-published it 😉 They are aiming for quality, for sure 👍

Collapse
 
funbeedev profile image
Fum

I've not considered cross posting on Hackernoon before but maybe I will...
I think it's good they take care with articles published on their site. And as a writer we could always learn from their edits on how to improve for future posts!

Thread Thread
 
madza profile image
Madza

Cant agree more with that 👍 😉

Collapse
 
highcenburg profile image
Vicente G. Reyes

That's for sure. You'd gain wild traction on articles with Hackernoon.

Thread Thread
 
madza profile image
Madza

Could be, tho based on my points in the post, I feel that their platform is more readers-oriented, and there are some stuff to improve for content creators 😉

Thread Thread
 
highcenburg profile image
Vicente G. Reyes

I agree. And the more readers, the more we reach potential customers. 😉

Collapse
 
bobbyiliev profile image
Bobby Iliev

I've recently posted my first post on there and realized that they don't support Markdown, but they assured me that they are working on that.

So I guess once they support Markdown it is going to be fine to do so.

Collapse
 
supportnoon profile image
Hacker Noon Support

Hey great. We'll support markdown later in the year.

Collapse
 
spiderpig86 profile image
Stanley Lim

Looking forward to it!

Collapse
 
bobbyiliev profile image
Bobby Iliev

That will be awesome!

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

It's hard to believe they have been around for so long, and yet have not implemented markdown support for bloggers 😮 As I said, their editor is unique 😀

Collapse
 
shadowtime2000 profile image
shadowtime2000

I cross post the articles I know are actually more original or unique to get the maximum amount of readers on it. Everything else which is not as innovative and stuff I just post on my Hashnode blog and cross post to DEV.

Collapse
 
dailydevtips1 profile image
Chris Bongers

I only do my high-end posts.
They also don't have proper canonical so that makes me a bit concerned.

But the ones that I do post, seem to do pretty well.

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

I'm concerned about their canonical URLs, too 😉

Collapse
 
supportnoon profile image
Hacker Noon Support

Hey Madza, apologies for the slow loading time and 2 week publishing time. The median is 3 business days for editorial review. For any details about how to improve we are available at support@hackernoon.com and/or hackernoon.com/contact Thanks for publishing a story with us, and the feedback.

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

Awesome to see you here! 👍
Hope you could consider the features in the future 😉

Collapse
 
codebyjustin profile image
Justin

Idk what's hackernoon ?

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

Been around since 2016 😉

Collapse
 
codebyjustin profile image
Justin

Cool but that doesn't mean I know of it ;)

Thread Thread
 
supportnoon profile image
Hacker Noon Support

Hey Hacker Noon is built for technologists to read, write, learn, and publish. More info about us: en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hacker_Noon & about.hackernoon.com/

Thread Thread
 
codebyjustin profile image
Justin

Nice I'll check it out :)

Collapse
 
supportnoon profile image
Hacker Noon Support

Yep :-) Here's more details on how to publish.hackernoon.com/

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.