DEV Community

Cover image for Is Stack Overflow profile relevant in resume?
Madza
Madza

Posted on

Is Stack Overflow profile relevant in resume?

I've seen some people including their SO profiles in their resumes.
They believe it would show the employer you're an active member of the development community and also provide an insight into your knowledge + how well you convey your ideas.

Have you ever included your SO profile in resume and experienced recruiters using it in the hiring process?

Top comments (17)

Collapse
 
jcolag profile image
John Colagioia (he/him) • Edited

Think of it like education: It's important if it's one of the stronger aspects about your career to date, but less useful in the face of other experience that you can showcase.

That's obviously unclear, because every job application is different. But to give a more concrete example, if you're applying to a Ruby on Rails shop and you happen to answer a lot of Rails questions, they're going to want to see that. By contrast, if you asked one question, once, it's probably not worth mentioning.

Personally, I just keep links to Stack Overflow, GitHub, and social media on my personal webpage and direct people there in my cover letter. Some companies get excited about it, some don't care. Again, the analogy is education: At my age, nobody cares about my degree (though having one gets me through some screening), but for your first job, your school and GPA might be the majority of your reputation.

Collapse
 
cboles profile image
Chris Boles

Totally agree. Everything in your resume should have some relevance to the job description.

Like my GitHub profile is more geared towards personal projects than contributing to open source. So, while I always include it, it just depends on how much I include.

You should be able to explain why every line on your resume is important for them to read.

Collapse
 
jennrmillerdev profile image
Jen Miller

You should be able to explain why every line on your resume is important for them to read.

I very much agree on this.

Collapse
 
itsasine profile image
ItsASine (Kayla)

Personally, I just keep links to Stack Overflow, GitHub, and social media on my personal webpage and direct people there in my cover letter.

This!

I know some people will see my username tends to be ItsASine for dev things and hunt, so I'll save them the trouble and link to them on my sites, but the resume is better to keep to just what will make you look good. I'm sure there are interviewers out there that want to judge everyone by their SO ranks, but unless you're active in your tech stack's questions, it's not going to be a huge plus to keep on the resume.

Although, even though my Github is meh, I know a lot of hiring managers would want to see it, so I include a reference to it under my personal site link. But that's more because I assume no one is going to go to my website so I at least want to convey that my Github profile exists.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

If you have a relevant online profile: Flaunt it. I think it's only a positive to demonstrate some community involvement unless the rest of your resumΓ© speaks for itself in an incredibly obvious way.

For better or worse I think public activity is helpful on resumΓ©s.

Collapse
 
louislow profile image
Louis Low

DEV leader! DEV leader! DEV leader! DEV leader! DEV leader!

cute cat with big eyes

Collapse
 
crimsonmed profile image
MΓ©dΓ©ric Burlet

This is something I come across often.
I have people putting their SO profile on their application but when I check the profile its have one question and that is it.
I also have people putting their Github profile where there is one repo of just a HTML test page.

When I recruit I go in the optic of don't add it if it doesnt boost your profile. There is no point adding a github that has one repo. If you github has personal projects, open source collabs and more then go for it.

Same for SO, If your profile does not have anything interesting to add to your profile don't add it.

Collapse
 
louislow profile image
Louis Low • Edited

Not necessary in my living country. The Tech recruiter in this country is quite lazy and has imposter syndrome. Stackoverflow, dev.to, IBM CallForCode, etc. are too much for them to read.

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

I find that many recruiters are like that. I have my social media, github and portfolio links at the top of my resume and the recruiter still asks me if I have those profiles. So they could not even be bothered to open the resume they asked me to send...

Collapse
 
louislow profile image
Louis Low • Edited

Absolutely! These recruiters are trying to make conversation to make a scene...

You are being recruited!

...and they've done their recruiting job to make them feel better. In the end, they are just regular lazy office boys or girls making phone calls, texting, some paperwork, trying to blend in into the tech world and question us like an idiot with a hardcoded list.

Whenever I get such an unbelievable response from the recruiter via any communication mediums. I usually mock them with...

Sorry, you are just messing with a very intelligent person. But you are not. You are welcome.

Thread Thread
 
jmojico profile image
Julian Mojico

That's very humble from you. Remember, Intelligence does not make you wise.

Collapse
 
johannchopin profile image
johannchopin

I have +5k on SO and this Is really a huge value as a developer. Indeed ALL the developers use SO at least once a month and probably have an account. Having a nice amount of reputation easily impress them even you are a junior.

You easily also get contacted by other developer to start a project (I got contacted by 2 start-up in the pass 3month) .

So I really recommand you to start answer questions and earn reps πŸ˜‰ then be proud of it and share it to the recruiters.

In my case I have it in the navbar of my website cv.johannchopin.fr.

Collapse
 
bobbyiliev profile image
Bobby Iliev

My personal opinion is that with StackOverflow's recent reputation of being so negative lately, a lot of people feel reluctant to post there. I think that other communities like DEV, DevDojo, and the DigitalOcean community which are much more welcoming, so I wouldn't worry too much about my StackOverflow profile.

Collapse
 
jennrmillerdev profile image
Jen Miller • Edited

hmm, this is a really interesting question,

In many companies, the candidate review process includes a review of the resume by other developers. When evaluating candidates, I always look at their online website and github if provided. If the SO profile is there, I sometimes do a quick look.

I don't like the idea of just using SO rank as a measure of experience though. I think if your SO involvement can communicate something of value, such as, experience, compassion for helping others, or a carving for learning more...all that helps (Github and sites like dev.to are other good sites).

Using social media to evaluate candidates is tricky. Developers are people and thus and their evaluation of a candidate can swayed by personal beliefs on topics and other things not applicable to their work.

I don't think a resume should be a dumping ground of everything someone has done. I think it has to be organized in a meaningful way to show recruiters and reviewers that you are a potential candidate for the job. If SO is another point of experience in your life that could show this, then put it down.

Collapse
 
peledzohar profile image
Zohar Peled

Personally, I think you shouldn't include links to SO or Dev (or whatever) in your resume, unless you're really short on actual industry experience relevant to the job you're posting for but you have some SO/Dev/other publicly published content that shows you do know your stuff. I would include links to a personal website and/or SO/Dev/other in your linkedin profile, though. When an employer/recruiter reads your resume, they're not interested in links, they're interested in what's in front of their eyes. Later, if you've passed that initial screening, they will look you up - and then they might be tempted to learn about your community activity.

If you're applying to a job on a company that's known for encouraging their employees to be involved in the community - even if it's not directly related to the developers community - then it might be a good idea to mention you're volunteering your time and knowledge to help fellow developers.

Collapse
 
anduser96 profile image
Andrei Gatej

In my case, it’s one of the strongest points. But it also reflects what kind of work I’d like to do

Collapse
 
theluk profile image
Lukas Klinzing

Yes. I have around 6k stars and got multiple offers including from Facebook. My current employment is also because of my SO profile.