DEV Community

Cover image for What apps do you use for planning your week?
Madza
Madza

Posted on

What apps do you use for planning your week?

The success of our day is largely dependent on the quality of our planning. Some people prefer to make a list of upcoming tasks in a notebook, while others have long started using digital technology solutions.

Do you use some calendar app like Google Calendar, Apple Calendar, Fantastical that sync across all you devices and plan tasks like that?

Or maybe you prefer note taking apps like Notion, Evernote or Trello to track you tasks and their execution?

Or do you still use the traditional block-note approach as for some people no app will ever be as flexible and easy to use as pen and paper?

Top comments (44)

Collapse
 
radualexandrub profile image
Radu-Alexandru B • Edited

Finally, my time to shine:

  • Google Calendar for organizing busy weeks/months
  • Google Keep for my day to day tasks (or for planning the next day or even current/next week)... Also to break big big tasks into lots of smaller sub-tasks
  • Pen and a calendar on paper to keep track of what I've done every single day... I have 3 years of paper calendars with a history of every activity that I did... crazy, eh?
  • A physical journal when times are rough and I need to write stuff down before my brain explodes
  • Microsoft Excel for accounting all the money I've spent on everything. I mean. Every. Single. Penny. With lots of statistics on how much I earn/pay per month/year, etc. From time to time I save these data to a cloud (Google Sheets).
  • Evernote for writing things like:
    • New projects, applications ideas, where I can also break them step by step by technologies used, user interface and experience, and links to some possible functionalities
    • List of all the movies that I've seen, games that I've played
    • List of all possible gifts that I could buy (including who I gave that and when)
    • Fast journalling when I don't have my physical notebook
    • Insights/Core ideas from books that I've read or Self-Growth videos
  • Oh, and my My-Study-Notes repository where I write all the stuff I learn... Sometimes I write all my notes on paper but, this repo is accessible anywhere when I need it. Feel free to visit and maybe.. maybe give a ⭐.
Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

Nice list there, covers all the needs well πŸ‘πŸ‘Œ

Collapse
 
vaclavhodek profile image
vaclavhodek

I use ClickUp for almost everything. We use it in our company for development, marketing, content production, customer support, feedback collecting, etc. and I started using it for personal planning as well.

It's amazing as there are tasks, tables, documents, calendars, mind-maps, forms, etc. It's customizable and there is API - we send data about new users, apps, etc. directly to our CRM workspace in ClickUp.

Definitely worth trying.

Collapse
 
rubeen profile image
Ruben Vitt

Definitely my favourite! I managed planning my thesis with this tool. πŸš€

Collapse
 
jimcmorrison profile image
JimCMorrison

I use a cocktail of things 3 for daily to dos, Bear Notes for notes and quarterly planning, Google Calendar for schedule, Trello for longer projects, and a couple white boards at home for generally planning of projects/weekly touch points. It seems like a lot but I feel like it allows me to be the most productive!

Collapse
 
mrkwanz profile image
MrKwanZ • Edited
Collapse
 
scroung720 profile image
scroung720

Google sheets hahahah :(

Collapse
 
pavel_polivka profile image
Pavel PolΓ­vka

I have work Outlook and paper and pen... Old school 🀣

Collapse
 
deepslam profile image
Dmitry Ivanov

Just Google Calendar and Microsoft To Do

Collapse
 
gavinshaw profile image
Gavin Shaw • Edited

Same stack here. I am really enjoying Microsoft To Do at the moment. The developers are very active.

I use Dynalist for note taking.

Collapse
 
pablohs1986 profile image
Pablo Herrero

Paper and fountain pen... old style :)

Collapse
 
nicolasomar profile image
NicolΓ‘s Omar GonzΓ‘lez Passerino

Mostly Trello for a long term projects, sometimes google docs for tracking documentations i will use on the project and old fashion paper/pen for taking notes after my work hours.
I think is a good idea to have a notepad at hand when you are relaxing your mind and the ideas come up.

Collapse
 
sharmanandini4 profile image
Nandini Sharma

Well, I’d like to recommend ProofHub as it simplifies the way teams manage their day-to-day work. From planning tasks and projects to collaborating with remote team members, keeping things organized, and delivering projects on time - ProofHub has got all the features that you need.

To-do lists, Custom workflows, Group chat, Gantt charts, Discussions, File sharing, Online proofing, Time tracking, Reporting, and so on. With ProofHub, you won’t feel the need for using multiple tools for all this. It even has a built-in Calendar to solve your scheduling problems. It integrates with apps like Google Drive, OneDrive, Dropbox, Box, Google Calendar, iCal, FreshBooks, and more, to bring all your scattered data in one shared space.

You can try it once and see it for yourself.

Collapse
 
art4 profile image
Art4 • Edited

I'm using a selfhosted Nextcloud instance for nearly everything.

  • Nextcloud Calendar for syncing between 4 devices (CalDAV) and sharing with family and various organisations.
  • Nextcloud Tasks for Tasks and Calendar Integration; On mobile nearly every calendar and task app with Calendar/CalDAV support works for me
  • Nextcloud Deck for longer/complex projects
Collapse
 
nieuwepixels profile image
Nieuwe Pixels

I am working on my own concept. It's somewhere between Trello and Salesforce. Giving me kanban views per client, but also overal on all projects.

Collapse
 
dennislwm profile image
dennislwm

Not conventional, but I'm using Inkdrop.app markdown editor. It has iOS app so that I can plan my day even while outside, and syncs to a self-hosted couchdb, so that I can continue on my desktop app. For those who don't want to go the self-hosted route, it has a premium plan.

Collapse
 
louislow profile image
Louis Low

My all time favorites ~ Google Keep and Google Calendar

Collapse
 
contradicthelaw profile image
Minh Nguyen (he/him)

Event/meeting management: Microsoft Teams. I've used it for team stand ups and ad-hoc callsβ€”it does the job okay (but it’s difficult to scroll up more than a few messages at a time).

Todos and other notes: org-mode on Emacs. I can prioritise items, set todo status, make repeatable tasks, and I can view all of this at a glance with an agenda view. I used to have a pen and paper setup, but it was eating up space on my desk.