DEV Community

Cover image for What are your favorite coding challenge sites?
Madza
Madza

Posted on

What are your favorite coding challenge sites?

Some time ago I did a lot of Codewars in my spare time. It's a great platform with loads of challenges in different languages, a nice reward system to motivate you (you earn Kata as you go), with options to compare your solutions and overall a great community.

I would especially recommend it for job-seeking phase as it's a great way to practice appliance of data structures and algorithms to community created and curated theoretical problems.

Some other awesome coding challenge sites include HarckerRank, LeetCode, CodeChef, Coderbyte, TopCoder, Exercism.io, Project Euler and many others.

For more practical challenges I would recommend amazing recent project devchallenges.io. Here's the story of how it came to life: link.

Have you tried any of these and what's your experience?

Top comments (22)

Collapse
 
vitalykrenel profile image
Vitaly Krenel

Hey fellow devs! Thanks a lot, Madza, for gathering those up!

I want to add another project, that I created together with BandaWorks, it's called Housework Undoer.

πŸ—οΈ Housework Undoer is a project challenging you to build a full-fledged app.

πŸ“– At the same time, you won't deal with just coding - you'll be going through a meaning story, that will introduce you to your users, explain their problem and this way help you learn how to build a product with users in mind.

πŸ€– To make more close to the real development workflow, we organized the project into multiple tasks, each one presenting you own challenges.

The project is still young, so we are looking for feedback.

We also willing to help if you have any question through the project or will struggle with something πŸ˜‰

Take a look: banda.works/housework-undoer

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

My pleasure and thanks for the additional input! πŸ™β€

Collapse
 
bimlas profile image
bimlas

codingame.com/ can help you have fun learning: The purpose of games can be achieved through programming. You can practice many languages and types of tasks in it. My favorite is Clash of Code, where you have to solve the task more skillfully than others + you can also see the solutions of others after the game (if they shared it).

Collapse
 
stevepryde profile image
Steve Pryde

I'm a huge fan of codingame.com. The site is really polished and the competitions are quite addictive. I have spent many a late night working on trying to achieve a better rank.

Collapse
 
catalinradoi profile image
CatalinRadoi

I used to do a lot of Clash of Code :) I am now using hackerrang.com

Collapse
 
bimlas profile image
bimlas

hackerrang.com hackerrank.com

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

Thanks for the input! πŸ™β€

Collapse
 
equiman profile image
Camilo Martinez • Edited
Collapse
 
eduherminio profile image
Eduardo • Edited

⚠️Beware CodeSignal/CodeFights/BrainFights, they banned hundreds of repositories with solutions from GitHub before.

Collapse
 
equiman profile image
Camilo Martinez

That's because they are showing all solutions and also using code from codesignal.

My post it's more related to show how we can solve a problem in multiple ways and how to measure performance.

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

Thanks for the input! πŸ™β€ A great presentation of the problem πŸ˜‰

Collapse
 
achintyam1812 profile image
acm1812

I would say that my favorite coding site is codewars. It's a great platform to hone your skills in a language and get comfortable with it. Also, some of the challenges I encountered there were quite unique and interesting. Also hackerrank, codingbat and codingame.

Collapse
 
codinglanguages profile image
Your DevOps Guy

Mostly Leetcode. I've used it to prepare for interviews and I extract problems from it for my articles.

I haven't tested much the others. Only Project Euler, but this is very math heavy - which I like, but not ideal for interview preparation.

Collapse
 
mbaas2 profile image
Michael Baas

WHAT - no Code Golfers here? ;)

Collapse
 
grenmath profile image
Mathieu Grenier • Edited

Tried these dev challenges sites:

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

Thanks for the valuable input on lesser-known ones, as well πŸ™β€

Collapse
 
michelbernardods profile image
michelbs

In this repository there are several sites for Backend, Frontend and Pentest:
github.com/michelbernardods/progra...

Collapse
 
moaadlala profile image
MoaadLala

I suggest multicoder.ml not only because it's question are good, but also it provides a multiplayer functionality (You can compete against you friends in an awesome way).

Collapse
 
volkmarr profile image
Volkmar Rigo

I had lot's of fun with the adventofcode. I really hope, that it takes place this year, starting with december 1th.

Collapse
 
abhijitkr profile image
Abhijit Kumar Mahato

For Front end stuffs I use Frontendmentor.io

Collapse
 
patarapolw profile image
Pacharapol Withayasakpunt

I love Exercism in that I learnt how to actually run code on my machine.

Other code challenge websites seem to think otherwise.

Collapse
 
sjellen profile image
SJellen

Right now I’m heavy into codewars and hackerrank. It really makes you better as far as the language is concerned.