DEV Community

Cover image for What cross-posting solutions do you use?
Madza
Madza

Posted on

What cross-posting solutions do you use?

Automated cross-posting on various platforms can be a great time and energy saver, but if done incorrectly could cause poorly formatted articles due to differences in layout (liquid tags, complex tables, etc), as well as different image resolutions.

Do you cross post manually or use some automated solutions you would like to share?

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

I flipped the idea and went with using DEV as a headless CMS. More on that here. πŸ‘‡

The only issues I’ve found so far are the styling of embeds coming from DEV. They’re in iframes, so you can style them to fit your blog. I’ll get around to sorting that out at some point though. It involves a rework of how embeds stylings work in the platform.

Collapse
 
daveparr profile image
Dave Parr

Been using this solution for my website, and found the same thing. Very happy with 99% of how it operates. Glad to know covering off that last 1% niggle is on the cards!

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Update on the embeds from DEV. I've been able to transfrom some of the embeds to gatsby-remark-oembded embeds.

You can probably use the same logic in a non-Gatsby site, like say Eleventy as it's just node processing markdown.

Collapse
 
albertomontalesi profile image
AlbertoM

Currently I only cross post on devto from my blog inspiredwebdev.com so I do it manually. Since both places use markdown (mdx on my blog) it's very easy to just copy and paste.

Collapse
 
rmhogervorst profile image
Roel Hogervorst

Rss is key here, I half manually crosspost here. My main R rss feed gets picked up by rweekly and rbloggers.

Collapse
 
insanenaman profile image
Naman Gupta

Manually on Hashnode and dev. πŸ˜…

Collapse
 
hrishio profile image
Hrishi Mittal

between those two (and your own site), where do you get more readers?

Collapse
 
insanenaman profile image
Naman Gupta • Edited

Answer is Dev
.It has a great and awesome userbase. I get better reach and response here.