DEV Community

Cover image for What domain extension do you use for portfolio?
Madza
Madza

Posted on

What domain extension do you use for portfolio?

Lately I've seen many, such as .dev, .tech, .me, .io, .info and .com. Which one do you use for your portfolio?

Or do you use free subdomains like yoursite.github.io or yoursite.netlify.app?

Top comments (70)

Collapse
 
prafulla-codes profile image
Prafulla Raichurkar
Collapse
 
developerkaren profile image
Karen Efereyan

This is really cool. I love the dark theme and the menu.

Collapse
 
prafulla-codes profile image
Prafulla Raichurkar

Thanks 😁😁

Collapse
 
ziad696 profile image
Ziad696

Uh... Nice one

Collapse
 
sangeethasakthivel99 profile image
Sangeetha Sakthivel

Wow nice portfolioπŸ‘

Collapse
 
prafulla-codes profile image
Prafulla Raichurkar

Thank you 😁

Collapse
 
king11 profile image
Lakshya Singh

Super cool

Collapse
 
prafulla-codes profile image
Prafulla Raichurkar

Thanks alotπŸ˜‡

Collapse
 
pehdepano profile image
Richard de Jesus

Congrats, super cool

Collapse
 
prafulla-codes profile image
Prafulla Raichurkar

Thanks man 😁

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

I've come across this sometime before, good job πŸ‘πŸ˜‰

Collapse
 
prafulla-codes profile image
Prafulla Raichurkar

😁 thanks!

Collapse
 
abbadev profile image
Abdulla T

I love the menu... very nice design

Collapse
 
prafulla-codes profile image
Prafulla Raichurkar

πŸ˜‡ thanks

Collapse
 
rahulmanojt profile image
Rahul T

This is super cool i loved this❀️❀️

Collapse
 
prafulla-codes profile image
Prafulla Raichurkar

Thanks alot πŸ˜‡πŸ˜‡πŸ˜

Collapse
 
amt8u profile image
amt8u

I use .dev for my blog because of below reasons

  • only https:// sites allowed(Most important one)
  • Signifies that you are related to technology
  • Its still a new extension, so you can get good domain names
  • Not as expensive as some .com ones for the same name
  • Maybe its just me but I like 3 or less characters in extension
  • Somehow I believe most .dev sites are authentic. Not much phishing or spam(Could be wrong here).
Collapse
 
bitsondatadev profile image
Brian "bits" Olsen

Just started bitsondata.dev for my data engineering blog.

Collapse
 
amt8u profile image
amt8u • Edited

Just read your article about benchmarketting. Sounds true but just follow up thought on it. Isn't it true for all kinds of marketing. Every one tends to exaggerate their performance. Maybe because it has been accepted as a culture. And since everybody knows this, we also subconsciously tone down the amount by ourselves.

BTW one observation about your site - Firefox reports that this page on your site is insecure even though all network requests are https://. Not sure why is it reporting like this. Chrome doesn't say so. Will let you know if I find something.

Thread Thread
 
bitsondatadev profile image
Brian "bits" Olsen

Isn't it true for all kinds of marketing. Every one tends to exaggerate their performance.

Yes that is exactly what I’m saying in this post.

And since everybody knows this, we also subconsciously tone down the amount by ourselves.

And here is the problem I’m pointing out. While, to some maybe it’s obvious to disregard our give lower weight to these schemes, there’s still a subconscious element of this marketing that weighs in on the aggregate of decision makers minds. So you can’t just assume that’s everyone knows.

This was a call to action for companies to instead run the benchmarks themselves. So if you see clams like this you not only verify and reproduce those claims yourself but you could also verify your own data and use cases.

That is what I was trying to get across.

Collapse
 
developerkaren profile image
Karen Efereyan

I'm currently using this.
karenefe.netlify.app
I'm looking to revamp this soon and probably get a custom .dev extension

Collapse
 
aquicarattino profile image
Aquiles Carattino

I liked the design, is very nice and it really shows who you are!

Collapse
 
developerkaren profile image
Karen Efereyan

Thanks. I'm looking to revamp It soon with react. I have even more interesting projects that I'll add.

Collapse
 
winstonpuckett profile image
Winston Puckett

I love the color theme

Collapse
 
prafulla-codes profile image
Prafulla Raichurkar

Really cool, loved the dark theme and the colour contrasts 😁

Collapse
 
developerkaren profile image
Karen Efereyan

Thank you😍😍

Collapse
 
pablohs1986 profile image
Pablo Herrero

.me!! :)

pabloherrero.me/

Collapse
 
winstonpuckett profile image
Winston Puckett

"Clean Code Defender" I like that. I'm excited to hear more from you

Collapse
 
pablohs1986 profile image
Pablo Herrero

ohhh yesss!! Clean Code always!!!

Collapse
 
developerkaren profile image
Karen Efereyan

Neat one pablo

Collapse
 
developerkaren profile image
Karen Efereyan

I'm a girl. And you're welcome

Thread Thread
 
pablohs1986 profile image
Pablo Herrero

Sorry!!!

Collapse
 
pablohs1986 profile image
Pablo Herrero • Edited

Thanks!

Collapse
 
envindavsorg profile image
Cuzeac Florin

cuzeacflorin.design

I use .design i love it πŸ˜›

Collapse
 
aquicarattino profile image
Aquiles Carattino

Sleek design!

Collapse
 
envindavsorg profile image
Cuzeac Florin

Thanks !!!

Collapse
 
abbadev profile image
Abdulla T

smooth animations.

Collapse
 
_martinwheeler_ profile image
Martin Wheeler

martinwheelerweb.com

I toyed with .com, .co.uk and .dev when I was looking but settled on .com more for familiarity sake I think. It's such a staple in everyday life it just felt right. That's not to say I won't ever use .dev, I love the link. I also enjoy clever use of country codes (e.g. co.de)...not sure if they're a good idea though.

Collapse
 
gkhan205 profile image
Ghazi Khan
Collapse
 
juniordevforlife profile image
Jason F

Your portfolio is one of my favorites.

Collapse
 
gkhan205 profile image
Ghazi Khan

Thank you ☺️

Collapse
 
radualexandrub profile image
Radu-Alexandru B

Hello, recently I went to .com. I think it's more professional than .github.io or .netlify.app (the best two services for free static hosting indeed), and also it is easier to remember (as .com is the most common extension) and maybe gets more shares through recruiters chats (if someone can confirm this? 😁).

Here's mine: radubulai.com

Collapse
 
jvarness profile image
Jake Varness • Edited

Not a portfolio really (yet), but I’m using jvarness.blog as my domain.

I mainly wanted it to be a place where I could host a blog, so I felt like it was an appropriate domain.

Collapse
 
winstonpuckett profile image
Winston Puckett • Edited

I use winstonpuckett.com. Whenever I talk to "normal" people, they like .com names for some reason, so I decided to do standard. Plus I'm planning to move my other sites like neoplumes.com to neoplumes.winstonpuckett.com... I'm still not sure I made the right choice. I love unique TLDs

Collapse
 
rahulmanojt profile image
Rahul T • Edited

I used .xyz domain as it is cheaper
rahulmanoj.xyz
At the beginning i thought that this domain will not be indexed by google. But after doing some SEO, this domain is too indexed. To see this you can search rahulmanojcet in google.

Collapse
 
dar5hak profile image
Darshak Parikh

In fact, Alphabet's own site uses .xyz.

Collapse
 
itsasine profile image
ItsASine (Kayla)

I was using .me for my portfolios (screenname and real name are different). I moved to .dev when that became available for normal people to buy.

So I have itsasine.dev (that I should probably do more with) and lastname.dev so I can redirect that to kayla.lastname.dev and have the email address kayla@lastname.dev.

Collapse
 
patarapolw profile image
Pacharapol Withayasakpunt

I use *.cc, because of cheap price (polv.cc).

It used to be *.dev, though (polvcode.dev -- should be already dead now).

Collapse
 
alekseiberezkin profile image
Aleksei Berezkin

app for β€œapplication”: guess-css.app

Collapse
 
garvnanwani profile image
Garv Nanwani