DEV Community

Cover image for What's the most expensive domain you ever bought?
Madza
Madza

Posted on

What's the most expensive domain you ever bought?

Domain market is a competitive one. The prices for a single domain can vary from couple of bucks to seven or eight figures.

Just curious what was the most expensive domain you ever bought, what was it for and did it payed-off?

Top comments (22)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

dev.to was ~$300... Most expensive domain I've ever bought (personally that is... forem.com was more expensive.)

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza • Edited

Thanks for sharing, although I thought it was way, way more πŸ˜‰
I guess it's not about what you pay for it, but what you make out of it πŸ’―βœ¨

Collapse
 
hm profile image
Hugo Montenegro

$110 for namy.ai (my current startup)

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

Thanks for the share πŸ˜‰ also good luck with the startup πŸš€πŸ’―

Collapse
 
hm profile image
Hugo Montenegro

Thanks! If you have any feedback for it I'd be happy to get it :P

Thread Thread
 
madza profile image
Madza

I think that anything AI related holds a great future potential and I'm sure you are using smart and well thought-out algorithm to generate the results πŸ˜‰
Plus I like the unique design you have developed for the site πŸ‘

Collapse
 
dominikbraun profile image
DB

The owner of a German Whisky community I'm active in bought whisky.com for 3M Euros.

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

Something tells me that could be right in that ballpark πŸ˜‰

Collapse
 
willnode profile image
Wildan Mubarok

I own domcloud.io and domcloud.id which cost about 50$ and 15$ respectively. Most expensive I ever bought for a project.

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

Thanks for the insight πŸ™β€

Collapse
 
villivald profile image
MV

create-react-app.com (my blog), it was about 10€ πŸ€“

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

For a moment I though it was this one for CRA docs πŸ˜€πŸ˜€

Collapse
 
villivald profile image
MV

πŸ˜‚πŸ™ƒ

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

Domain prices are scams. Resale of domain names doubly so.
I think the most I've personally paid for one is about Β£22/year for a .scot name,

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

Thanks for the share! πŸ™β€

Collapse
 
roneo profile image
Roneo.org

25€. I search new domains with the 'beast mode' on namecheap, set up to display domains cheaper than 30€.
I don't like the business around domain names

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

NameCheap is awesome, I got mine from them as well πŸ’―β€

Collapse
 
rinas profile image
rinas

it was for a recently bought one - til.dev

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

Thanks for the share! Best of luck with the project πŸ˜‰

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.