DEV Community

Play Button Pause Button
Joe Petrakovich
Joe Petrakovich

Posted on

How to stop thinking about code after work

I decided to do a video and written version of the same content.

The video is just me free-form speaking about it. While written is more structured.

The written can be found here.

Top comments (15)

Collapse
 
ayoungh profile image
Anthony Young

I know this feeling, I find this hard too and having ideas for side projects doesn't help because I find myself in stuck in this endless loop of wanting to work outside of work plus trying to switch off. I end up not doing anything but watching a movie or something to really get my mind off the code.

How do you deal with side projects outside of work?

Collapse
 
makingloops profile image
Joe Petrakovich

it is very hard, especially if your 9-5 code is already pretty intense (deadlines, new features etc).

Other than doing the strategy in this video/writing, I will also sometimes take some zone-out time or take a nap. It's important to listen to your body and also give it some love here and there so you don't burn out.

I schedule my week out ahead of time as well, so i know based on the day what tasks i need to work on. I think i will do an article on that as well actually. Making sure I pre-plan what i will be doing for the day so it's not left up to chance.

Collapse
 
mrtnrdl profile image
Martin Riedel

No one likes to be the guy that yells at their significant other because they used the word or when they meant and because you’re steeping in an apathetic wasteland of logic.

This one hits hard. Damnit, I've been there before.

Nice writeup and it seems like we've developed a similar routine. Especially the part with the force context switch is great advice for people struggling. I've learned in my days as a traveling consultant (4-5 days at hotels, home at the weekend) to truly disconnect. And the travel actually helped. Since these days are pretty much over right now and I work a lot from home, I've adapted.

  • I don't use my work-machine for anything else than working.
  • Closing that notebook with the knowledge that my work-day is over and I'm heading home now.
  • Use different Wallpapers on my personal machines than the work machine. No reminders.
  • No Slack, No Email on my phone after 6PM (Do not disturb settings are awesome)

I think that's it. So far, it was enough to keep my mind from drifting back to work. But I like your approach with the todo.md and i'll try to adapt this to my Note-taking habit.

Collapse
 
shauzi92 profile image
Shauzab

I think you must write an article on how to start thinking about code when you start work.

Collapse
 
makingloops profile image
Joe Petrakovich

ha! thats actually a really good idea! i think i will.

Collapse
 
ahmadawais profile image
Ahmad Awais ⚡️ • Edited

I know the feeling. BTW I have a lot of tips around making this workflow better in VSCode — that I shared in VSCode.pro course. I am going to make that part available for free soon. I'll try and make a video on it.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Just stumbled across this and loved it

Collapse
 
makingloops profile image
Joe Petrakovich

Thanks Ben :)

Collapse
 
xtrasmal profile image
Xander

I find it relaxing to do some physical stuff that generates a lot op dopamine.
This year I have picked up a fast electric skateboard and go out and about.

Collapse
 
makingloops profile image
Joe Petrakovich

Good idea. Going for a run would help me I think.

Collapse
 
sethusenthil profile image
Sethu Senthil

Don't open dev.to! Problem solved!

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.