DEV Community

Daniel Madalitso Phiri
Daniel Madalitso Phiri

Posted on

From Idea to Production

Hey dev.to 👋

I'll jump straight into it. I like many of us have a ton of product ideas every now and then. It a story of programmer gets idea, programmer is excited about idea, programmer tries to build idea, programmer loses interest in idea and locks it in idea purgatory. For me at least, that's the way things usually go, this time I want things to be different. I want to actually ship something into production. Go through the whole experience whatever that might be.

What I want to build

My friends and I share poetry and prose, a lot. The crazy thing is that it always gets lost in our chats on various platforms. I want to create a platform that my friends an I can log into, post our approx. ~5 line pieces and read each other's pieces too on some sort of timeline. Nothing too fancy. I want this to be as much of a learning experience as possible. I have no idea how to actually achieve this. Going forward, I'd like to know the path if there is one, I want to know the steps one takes, the things one looks out for, the design decisions you make and most importantly, I want to be able to genuinely laugh at the development and production memes :/. I'll use all this help from you all and create the platform. Once I get an idea of everything involved to get this project up and running, I'll give it a deadline and as usual share my progress here. It could probably work with Vue and GraphQL, right? Please share any ideas you have in the comments. I'd love to hear them.

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
deciduously profile image
Ben Lovy

It'll totally work with Vue and GraphQL, but you probably do not need GraphQL. My $0.02. Start with your Vue frontend, that'll at least get you going!

Collapse
 
malgamves profile image
Daniel Madalitso Phiri

What parts do you think might need GraphQL? I really don't want to use something I don't need. Thanks for the heads up!

Collapse
 
deciduously profile image
Ben Lovy

GraphQL is excellent for processing large amounts of requests which each have varying needs regarding what exactly they're querying from the server. At first glance, it seems like the bulk of the requests your app will generate will be shaped more or less the same, and you aren't anticipating a high volume/second.