DEV Community

Manjay Poddar
Manjay Poddar

Posted on

My "Hacktoberfest 2020" Journey

Alt Text

What I Learned From Hacktoberfest

This is the first time I participated in Hacktoberfest and also my first opensource contribution. I learned a lot of new skills from Hacktoberfest, working with new developers on their projects helps me to improve a lot. It was a great experience.

Hacktoberfest 2020 is one of the best experiences of my journey to a developer, that I will always cherish it. The excitement at the hour when my first pull request was merged can't be expressed in words. To Be Honest, I didn't know the importance of this fest I just take part in this fest for fun. My only target was to submit 4 pull requests but Later on, I realized that I did more than 4 pull requests. I am extremely grateful to be a part of Hacktoberfest 2020 which boosted my confidence to a different level.

Skills I gained during this period -

  • Git
  • GitHub
  • CSS
  • Finding issues

** I hope my journey with open-source will continue.**

Thanks a lot, Digital Ocean for this opportunity!

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
saurabgami977 profile image
Saurab Gami

It was the first time for me too. First of all, I just wanted to make 4 PRs but later on, I have learned a lot of things. #hactoberfest #hactoberfest2020 #digitalocean
Thank, Digital Ocean

Collapse
 
sanjogsamuelsamantaray profile image
Sanjog Samuel Samantaray

You can explore the unknown only when you dig in.

I had always heard of open source and Github but haven't explored it much. Hacktober fest paved the way to dig into such useful tools in Github, gain experience and realise the value of open source in the field of development. Looking forward to more such events to learn.

Collapse
 
kissaki profile image
Jan Klass

That’s great.

What did you work on?

Collapse
 
waylonwalker profile image
Waylon Walker

That is awesome that Hacktoberfest was able to get you introduced to open source. Hopefully it eases the barrier to entry on raising issues and PRs throughout the year.

What did you contribute to?

Collapse
 
mayankmohak profile image
Mayank Mohak

It was my first time but learned a lot like many git commands that i wish i would have not done this then got to even know about them.

more it was fun doing it in fields of web-dev...

Collapse
 
endormi profile image
endormi

That'a great! My first time was in 2018 and been participating every time since.

Collapse
 
torvivek profile image
Vivek-noob

It was my first time I had done many PRs but i was rewarded for these best 4 .
Thanks to digital ocean.

hacktoberfest #hacktoberfest2020