DEV Community

Omkar Manjrekar
Omkar Manjrekar

Posted on

How to make, build or solve problem X with Y?

Hello everyone! Hope all of you are doing good.

I am Omkar from India and I have been programming (professionally) for about a year now. I think I can say I have a little experience than a neophyte developer.

One of the problems I see myself and most like me struggling with is, how to solve a particular problem without reinventing the wheel. While reinventing the wheel should not be a problem for a beginner because that is how we will learn the crux or important parts of it, but the method that we used before sticks with us for long.

Instead if we could just know about the things that are out there with which we can do it easily (after taking the hard route once or twice), wouldn't that be great!

You would argue that we can easily do a google search. Yes we can, but a lot of times its difficult to search something because we don't really know what we want and if a tool or a library for it already exists.

XbyY will be collection of such and other recurring issues that can be easily solved with libraries and frameworks already out there (solution need not necessarily be a library or a framework).

Check out the repository

manjrekarom / XbyY

How to make, build or solve X with Y?

XbyY

How to make, build, solve X with Y?

I have been programming (professionally) for around a year now. I think I can say I am a little more experienced than a neophyte developer.

One of the problems I see myself and most like me struggling with is, how to solve a particular problem without reinventing the wheel. While reinventing the wheel should not be a problem for a beginner because that is how we will learn the crux or important parts of it, but the method that we use before sticks with us for long.

Instead if I could just know about the things that are out there with which we can do it easily (after taking the hard route once or twice), I think that would be great.

You would argue that you can easily do a google search. Yes we can, but a lot of times its…

Contributing is easy. We just have to create a markdown file with necessary details like the problem X, our solution/s (Y) and any tutorial links for this. Read more about it here.

This can also serve as an easy/medium pull request for those willing to do the Hacktoberfest Challenge.

Let's build a database of problems that we face generally, frustrate ourselves with :P and later have found a much better and easier way to solve it.

Thanks for reading!

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

This is neat. I'll try to contribute this weekend πŸ™‚

Collapse
 
manjrekarom profile image
Omkar Manjrekar

Cool. Thanks ben!

Collapse
 
codemouse92 profile image
Jason C. McDonald

Looks interesting!

Meanwhile, perhaps relevant...

Collapse
 
manjrekarom profile image
Omkar Manjrekar

Great article Jason!