DEV Community

Cover image for What things you do for starting new project?
Manthan Bhatt
Manthan Bhatt

Posted on

What things you do for starting new project?

I was curious about what a developer do when they start any new project that they are interest in building.

Are there any rituals that they follow for starting new project?

How they plane the initial development for the project?

Let's discuss it!

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
manthanbhatt profile image
Manthan Bhatt

As of myself I do the following things for starting the project.

  • Create a new task in notion.so
  • Then I create different pages for noting down all my research points that is required for the development for example - type of design, project structure, project feature lists etc.
  • Once I'm ready for the basic feature that are required in the development I create project and milestone in the GitHub for tracking the development process and keeping track of the project with deadline.
  • Now I create small tasks in the milestone which I need to do for phase one development.
  • Then I just develop, test and deploy the task as they get completed.
Collapse
 
manthanbhatt profile image
Manthan Bhatt

Quite an organized way for working on the project.

For this post I wanted to understand how people organized their project development from start to end so I might learning something new which I can adapt in personal project.

And your way was quite simple and straight forward 🙂

Collapse
 
manthanbhatt profile image
Manthan Bhatt

Waiting for the response from people who bookmarked this post
Image description

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

I would either set up the project in Jira or use an app like Notion.

Collapse
 
manthanbhatt profile image
Manthan Bhatt

Jira is also good as it's also connected with bitbucket which provide the whole eco system for managing the whole project.

But Jira is quite overwhelming for me

Collapse
 
amrowael profile image
amrowael

I arranged the project on Notion

Collapse
 
manthanbhatt profile image
Manthan Bhatt • Edited

Notion is one of my favourite too 😄

Simple and easy to use