DEV Community

Marcin
Marcin

Posted on

How many cold emails you send daily?

How you manage your cold e-mails? What is your process of sending cold e-mails and how you get people might be interested in your product?

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
nlxdodge profile image
NLxDoDge • Edited

I don't work in sales/marketing, I am just a humble developer but I can give you my perspective from getting a cold e-mail.
If I didn't agree to getting a subscription or e-mail from something I personally would send it straight to the trashcan and not even open it (and optionally make a rule to always send it to a trashcan).

What I would do instead:

Build a website/landings page where people can sign-up themselves if they are interested in a given topic or item, this way you get more clicks instead of sending cold e-mails hoping on some clicks. Because a lot of people are not interested if they didn't sign up.

TL;DR

Make an e-mail list where people can self sing-up instead of cold sending.

Collapse
 
marcin_codes profile image
Marcin

Your perspective is much valuable, thanks.

That's true, I'm on the same side as you. Usually I don't want to receive cold emails. When I see "collaboration" or "partnership" I know that someone want to sell something to me. Some e-mails are honest and well crafted, some of them are sketchy and just a spam.

But on the other hand we have a developer perspective. If we need something we google for it. Managers/CTO/Founders can have minimum time to do that on their own. They outsource work on something and they just make decisions.

When someone sends this:
"You are selling your product, with Magic Sell you can sell 30% faster and 20% easier"

Or this:

"Struggling with managing developers, boost developers effectivity by 100% with Developers Boost"

Founder thinks: Oh, that will be 1000s of $ in revenue, or it will save us 1000s of $ spent on ineffective developers