DEV Community

Cover image for What is it like to be a developer? (in gifs) πŸ—Ώ
Maria 🍦 Marshmallow
Maria 🍦 Marshmallow

Posted on

What is it like to be a developer? (in gifs) πŸ—Ώ

Some of the situations may be familiar to you. Enjoy!

When I show my boss that I finally fixed a bug:

When the project manager enters the office:

When I prepare the code for release:

When I try to fix a bug at 3 am:

When my regular expression worked exactly as expected:

When my friend asked me to fix a Joomla site:

When I was told that the module I had been developing all week would never be used:

When code that I haven't tested works fine in the stable version of the project:

When the sellers reported that they had sold our software to a client:

The first time I apply new CSS:

When the sysadmin finally gave us root access:

When I ran my script for the first time after hours of development:

When I go on vacation while everyone else is trying to fix bugs:

When we released the beta and got notified about the first bug:

When the boss is looking for someone to urgently fix a complex bug:

When code that works on Friday no longer works on Monday:

When I asked a new colleague to continue working on the code:

When a bug was not noticed during the presentation of the product:

Share your favorite memes and situations in comments!

Btw, you can support my work by buying me a coffee! I'll leave here a few links for you:)

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

You can also support me on Coinbase

Top comments (21)

Collapse
 
bad_request400 profile image
Bad Request 400

Great Collection....

No Gifs from me, only Meme Pics some of them u probl. have already seen on Twitter, from where i've probl. stolen them :D

Image description

Image description

Image description

Image description

Image description

so long

Collapse
 
lionelrowe profile image
lionel-rowe

git commit --amend --no-edit && git push --force origin main

Collapse
 
bad_request400 profile image
Bad Request 400

Ooooohhh no please shoot me now 🀒

Thread Thread
 
lionelrowe profile image
lionel-rowe

Confession time: I do this quite often for projects that I haven't officially released yet and that have no other contributors. Usually for minor changes to previous commits, but also sometimes when I'm just being lazy.

Its slightly-less-evil cousin git commit --amend --no-edit && git push --force <remote> <some-other-branch> is also really handy for making minor changes to still-unmerged PRs.

Thread Thread
 
bad_request400 profile image
Bad Request 400 • Edited

Well to be fair when u're the only contributor in a repo then its whatever and/or its a hobby project, just to play around with some tech, i do this as well.

But i've seen ppl do this on real projects with multiple ppl where in the end a product or service should pop out. Then its a big 'no no' for me bc in the end you're just lying at that point in what should be your single source of truth.

The only thing i will always defend is squash commits when merging a branch. Because no one wants to see my commit history:

  • Fix Bug 123 (Ticket Number123)
  • Fix For Real this time
  • Fml index error
  • f*ck
  • f*ck2
  • im going home

So i squash it, that when you hand over the repo to a customer he has some professional commit history and not the timeline of my rage induced breakdown :D.

So, yeah you're not the only one to do this but like you i would never do this in a real repo :D.

so long

Collapse
 
mariamarsh profile image
Maria 🍦 Marshmallow

It's hilarious😁

Collapse
 
bad_request400 profile image
Bad Request 400

Im partial to the "Wrong Database selected" Meme 😁

Thread Thread
 
mfurmaniuk profile image
Michael

That needs an addendum (last backup 455 days ago)

Thread Thread
 
bad_request400 profile image
Bad Request 400 • Edited

True Customer Sentence:

Oh yeah we have a backup. Hey β€žIn-house IT Guyβ€œ let’s restore that vm snapshot from the DB serverβ€œ.

Me: Oh no

  • 10 minutes or so passed *
  • DB Data Dir is on a SAN

Me: πŸ₯² I’m fine πŸ₯²

Collapse
 
ritterknight profile image
RitterKnight

The irony about the bricklaying one is that it actually takes way more skill to do this style of masonry β€œwrong” than to lay it normal. IIRC the style is called drunken brick.

Collapse
 
cubiclesocial profile image
cubiclesocial

When the sales team reports that they have sold our software to a client before the product is even ready for testing:

Sweaty Ted

Collapse
 
bad_request400 profile image
Bad Request 400

πŸ«‘πŸŽ–οΈ <-- For evey dev who found themselfs in that situation

Collapse
 
byronsalty profile image
Byron Salty

Well captured.

Collapse
 
raibtoffoletto profile image
RaΓ­ B. Toffoletto

Perfect list 🀣🀣

Collapse
 
bakardev profile image
Muhib ur Rahman Bakar

very nice :D

Collapse
 
canro91 profile image
Cesar Aguirre

Pretty accurate I'd say. lol

Collapse
 
jonah010101 profile image
Jonah010101

Wow, Great Collection....
It's funny.

Collapse
 
developeratul profile image
Minhazur Rahman Ratul

So funny and relevant. I can't stop laughing.

Some nuggets from me:

@developeratul

@developeratul

Collapse
 
flyingcrp profile image
flyingCrp

I met JavaScript for the first time

Image description

Collapse
 
codecat1024 profile image
CodeCat1024

Too terrible hahaha.

Collapse
 
oxemoron profile image
John Jacobusse

Keeping everyone happy...
Image description