DEV Community

Cover image for What VSCode theme are you using?
Matthias 🤖
Matthias 🤖

Posted on • Updated on

What VSCode theme are you using?

The IDE and Visual Studio Code in particular is the one tool developers use most.
Since most of us spend many hours a day in Visual Studio code, it's a terrific feature that you can choose your own theme.

At the moment I use Shades of Purple, before that I used Dracula Official for a long time but I want my IDE a bit more colorful 🎨

A great resource for finding your next theme is vscodethemes.com (I'm not related to this website 😉).

vscodethemes.com

What theme are you using?


If you like my content, you might want to follow me on Twitter?! @fullstack_to

Top comments (121)

Collapse
 
mitjmcc profile image
Mitch McClellan
Collapse
 
shano profile image
Shane Dowling

I never knew how much I needed this in my life! Might as well kick off some synthwave while I'm at it.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Currently using Night Owl with the Dank Mono font.

Night Owl with the Dank Mono font

Collapse
 
matthias profile image
Matthias 🤖

I like that font. Looks like the Operator Mono but for free!

BTW: You are the first person I see who has the activity bar on the right 😁

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor • Edited

Dank Mono isn't free, but I really like the font and it is way more affordable than Operator Mono.

I do things like moving toolbars to keep my brain sharp. Same with my mouse. I'm right handed, but use the mouse with my left hand. I started doing stuff like this in high school as I was big into basketball and was doing anything to get better with my left hand. Because of that, I still brush my teeth with my left hand. 🙃

Thread Thread
 
matthias profile image
Matthias 🤖

Dank Mono isn't free, but I really like the font and it is way more affordable than Operator Mono.

Ah okay, I only had a quick look at their website.

I'm right handed, but use the mouse with my left hand.

Just tried that. Wow, thats a hard one!

Thread Thread
 
defman profile image
Sergey Kislyakov

I'm right handed, but use the mouse with my left hand

I'm left handed and the only thing I do with my right hand is moving the mouse. 😁

Thread Thread
 
matthias profile image
Matthias 🤖

Is it hard for you to use your right hand for moving the mouse?
Are there special mice for left handers?

Thread Thread
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

I use a track pad at and at work, I have a magic mouse, both which work the same whichever hand you use.

Collapse
 
niorad profile image
Antonio Radovcic

Verdandi

With project-specific title-bar-color.

Loving the black & white syntax. Wouldn't go back to colored anymore.

The font is CamingoCode

Collapse
 
zltn profile image
zoltan

That's my favourite theme as well! I don't use VSCode anymore, but your post just reminded me that I miss this theme :) Time for me to attempt port it to vim sometime I guess. Was playing around with monochrome themes in there but none of them clicks the same way for me as Verdandi did.

Collapse
 
matthias profile image
Matthias 🤖

With project-specific title-bar-color.

Sounds like good idea! I will add that to my workspaces too! Thank you 🙏

Collapse
 
matthias profile image
Matthias 🤖

Just tried the colorized title-bar thing. If find it pretty handy, do you know if it is possible to increase the title bar height?

Thread Thread
 
niorad profile image
Antonio Radovcic

Highly doubt it. It's not part of the web-app, but of the native OS-windowing Electron uses.
What I tried was to shrink the side-tool-bar, but also to no success.

Thread Thread
 
matthias profile image
Matthias 🤖

Such a shame. For now I solved it by increasing the zoom level and shrinking the font size:

"window.zoomLevel": 0.3,
"editor.fontSize": 16
Thread Thread
 
niorad profile image
Antonio Radovcic

I need to look up if it's somehow possible to have a user-stylesheet which just overrides things. It's a website after all.

Collapse
 
florimondmanca profile image
Florimond Manca • Edited

I’ve been using Palenight for some time now. It’s a dark theme with a smooth and soothing feel, I really enjoy it!

Collapse
 
equinusocio profile image
Mattia Astorino

Palenight is just an unofficial porting of the Material Theme palenight variant

Collapse
 
matthias profile image
Matthias 🤖

Looks very calm ❤️

Collapse
 
piyukore06 profile image
Priyanka Kore

I was using Night Owl for a very long time. It's just so easy on the eyes. But I was craving a bit of change. I tried a bunch of themes, but none of them were as easy on eyes as Night Owl. But then I found Noctis .. Noctis Uva is my favorite from the Noctis family.

Collapse
 
matthias profile image
Matthias 🤖

I think I will try the Noctis theme and its variations too.

Collapse
 
j3ffjessie profile image
J3ffJessie

Was using Material a Theme, but recently switched to Synthwave ‘84. Amazing theme. Need to work out the glow but I’ll get there eventually.

marketplace.visualstudio.com/items...

Collapse
 
matthias profile image
Matthias 🤖

Is the glow effect more cpu intense?

Collapse
 
j3ffjessie profile image
J3ffJessie

Probably, it uses another package to handle the glow. It has the instructions in the docs but I haven’t messed with it. It will probably take more cpu but not 100% sure.

Thread Thread
 
robb0wen profile image
Robb Owen

Hey! Thanks for suggesting Synthwave '84!

The glow effect is handled by loading an external CSS file, but despite the neon looks, it's all done with CSS text-shadow so the CPU performance impact is minimal

Thread Thread
 
j3ffjessie profile image
J3ffJessie

Nice. I hadn’t played with it for the glow yet. Hoping to have time this weekend to mess with it. Hopefully it’s fairly simple.

Collapse
 
michaeljolley profile image
Michael Jolley

Used Dracula for a long time but recently been using Panda.

Collapse
 
ph1p profile image
Phil

marketplace.visualstudio.com/items...

"One Dark Pro Vivid" and these Fonts "'Menlo for Powerline', Monaco, 'Courier New', monospace".
After installing the theme you have to set the "Vivid" theme separately. I really like the brighter colors.

Collapse
 
matthias profile image
Matthias 🤖

"One Dark Pro" looks familiar - is that the Atom default theme?

Collapse
 
ph1p profile image
Phil

Yep. This is based on atom default theme.

Collapse
 
pandaa880 profile image
Prashant Chaudhari

I use Monokai Pro from the original creator of Monokai Theme. It is free for some period but after the trial there will be annoying popups. I really loved it so i bought the license.

Collapse
 
matthias profile image
Matthias 🤖 • Edited

I did not know that there are extensions for VSCode that are not free.

Collapse
 
pandaa880 profile image
Prashant Chaudhari

So far i only know this one...

Collapse
 
ryansmith profile image
Ryan Smith

I created a theme to my liking - Kaia Theme. It was inspired by Monokai but I tried to make things easier to read and identify.

Kaia Theme

Collapse
 
deadcoder0904 profile image
Akshay Kadam (A2K)

This looks rad & is really easy on eyes. Good job Ryan.

Collapse
 
matthias profile image
Matthias 🤖

Nice work 👍

Collapse
 
quintisimo profile image
Quintus Cardozo

Was using Material Theme for the longest time. Just switched to Horizon today and I'm loving it so far

Collapse
 
skhmt profile image
Mike

New Moon

It's really excellent. Also with Fira Code.

Collapse
 
yevgalis profile image
yevgalis

I finally found someone who uses New Moon theme!) I've been using it since Brackets. The most balanced theme in my opinion

Collapse
 
skhmt profile image
Mike

I love it! My only complaint is that there's a whole lot of yellow and orange in a lot of my JS, and I typically prefer slightly cooler colors to be more common.

Collapse
 
matthias profile image
Matthias 🤖

Do you use ligatures?

Collapse
 
skhmt profile image
Mike • Edited

Yep! That's the main selling point of Fira Code :)

Collapse
 
skiabox profile image
Stavros Kefaleas • Edited

I am using Dainty - Night Owl but I have a problem.
It overrides some of my Operator Mono Lig fonts.
Any ideas?

Here's what I mean :

i.ibb.co/vzZRS89/Screenshot-2019-0...

i.ibb.co/NFhK4H8/Screenshot-2019-0...

Collapse
 
matthias profile image
Matthias 🤖

To be honest, I don't know what you mean?
How should it look like? I don't use ligatures.

Collapse
 
skiabox profile image
Stavros Kefaleas

The first image is a compatible theme and the second image is Dainty - Night Owl.

Collapse
 
mikeybell profile image
Mike Bell • Edited

If anyone is looking for something new, I recently created a theme as a little side project. It's called Supernova, any and all feedback is welcome!

Supernova Theme

Supernova theme

Collapse
 
aromig profile image
Adam Romig 🇵🇭

Ooh, that looks nice! I’m going to give your theme a try.

Collapse
 
chiangs profile image
Stephen Chiang

Theme: Night Owl
Font: Dank Mono
Matching HyperJS Night Owl Theme
Custom Powershell / GitPosh Settings

Although I sometimes still switch back to Material Ocean or Noctis Obscuro

Dark for indoors

Dark Theme

Light for under the sun

Light theme

HyperJS

HyperJS

Collapse
 
matthias profile image
Matthias 🤖

Good idea to have an option for working under the sun!

Collapse
 
matthias profile image
Matthias 🤖

Does the Dank Mono font support different font weights?

Collapse
 
chiangs profile image
Stephen Chiang

Not exactly sure, but on Noctis, the import is bold so I think so.