DEV Community

maweexy
maweexy

Posted on • Updated on

Game Code using Visual Scripting

When I started to realize that I need to learn how to code to get the game functionality going, I panicked. I was not the great coder, I lack programming foundation. For a few years, I've tried to learn how to code, mainly from watching tutorials and reading some StackOverflow. Not much knowledge stuck with me but I figured, I could just learn while making this game.

I've seen a Bolt demo in one of the Unity webinars and thought it was cool. I decided to use it, had a bunch of issues because I have no idea what I'm doing. Eventually, the tool got absorbed my Unity and it became a built-in. It was easier to use after that.

I enjoyed using the Bolt now called Scripting Machine. You make script graphs where you can practically add any type nodes possible to build the back-end of your game. It was fun but tedious as heck. I didn't know that I spent so much time on it until I learned how to code little things here and there. I will not recommend coding your game in visual scripting unless you need to work with non-coder who deals with getting functions into the game as well.

sphag1

sphag2

scenevars

Top comments (0)