DEV Community

maweexy
maweexy

Posted on • Updated on

Concept Stage

ConceptSketch

Where the idea came from?

I wasn't big of a gamer growing up, my sister hoarded the family computer and didn't give me time to enjoy playing the games in there. She was really good at them because heck, she played more hours than I do. I always lose!

Around highschool, I still didn't get to play vidya games. I was busy trying to be cool but I obviously failed. I ended up that one kid who weirdly enjoys cropping the head of a photo to a different body in Photoshop. We didn't own a computer at home at the time, so my graphics skill kind of sucks. Even using paint was a pain. Paint is Pain, it's in the name. I mean if you can do Paint art back in the day, you a nerd!!

Anyhoo, I like making art but art has been really painful to get into. I was busy. Busy not doing art.

From 2012 to 2016, I get to play games in PC, consoles and mobiles. I like playing zombie games. I just know that if I'm going to make a game, it should be this very theme.

One day, I was walking with a coworker. Let's call him Jack. He started talking about his concept for a game and I suddenly felt the pressure to come up with my own. That is how I came up with the idea. I can't share Jack's idea...because well, that's his IP.

Do I know how to do concept art?

I certainly do not.
One night, the power was out and I was bored. Then I remember I like sketching. I pulled out a tablet and started "drawing" nonsense.

Initial game screen layout.
resto

Food art sketches.
food

Menu art boxes.
menus

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
chexxor profile image
Chexxxor

Can't wait for this to release!!!