DEV Community

Cover image for 50 Projects In 50 Days — HTML, CSS & JavaScript
Maxi Ruti Park
Maxi Ruti Park

Posted on

50 Projects In 50 Days — HTML, CSS & JavaScript

50 Projects In 50 Days — HTML, CSS & JavaScript

Why did it take this course?

I decided to take this course, right after I finish my first Javascript course. At that time I felt that even though I knew some Javascript I did not know how to start applying them in my projects.

I wanted to see how javascript was being used in different projects and situations and also to get some inspiration and ideas.

So the title of this course was the first thing that took my attention because it sounds exactly what I was looking for.

About the course

Sharpen your skills by building 50 quick, unique & fun mini projects, is the description of this course, created by Brad Traversy and Florin Pop.

The idea of this course is simple but really nice, 50 projects that you can do in 50 days. Most of the projects are shorts less than 15 min and some of them are longer than 30 min.

More than 30,000 people had taken this course and it was 4.6 points over more than 5000 reviews. So I thought it was going to be a really nice course to take.

But it turned out to be the worst course I have taken in Udemy and I will tell you why in the end.

What you will learn

According to the teachers, this is what you will learn

  • Project-based teaching to sharpen your HTML, CSS & JavaScript skills.
  • Perfect for beginners looking for things to build unique projects in a short timeframe.
  • Modern styling with flexbox, CSS animations, custom properties, etc.
  • DOM manipulation, events, array methods, HTTP requests & more.

Prerequisite

A very basic understanding of HTML, CSS & JavaScript.

Course content and Course Projects

This course is divided into 51 sections with a total of 164 lessons and a total duration of more than 18 hours.

The followings are the 50 projects:

  • Expanding Cards
  • Progress Steps
  • Rotating Navigation Animation
  • Hidden Search Widget
  • Blurry Loading
  • Scroll Animation
  • Split Landing Page
  • Form Wave
  • Sound Board
  • Dad Jokes
  • Event Keycodes
  • Faq Collapse
  • Random Choice Picker
  • Animated Navigation
  • Incrementing Counter
  • Drink Water
  • Movie App
  • Background Slider
  • Theme Clock
  • Button Ripple Effect
  • Drag N Drop
  • Drawing App
  • Kinetic Loader
  • Content Placeholder
  • Sticky Navbar
  • Double Vertical Slider
  • Toast Notification
  • Github Profiles
  • Double Click Heart
  • Auto Text Effect
  • Password Generator
  • Good Cheap Fast
  • Notes App
  • Animated Countdown
  • Image Carousel
  • Hoverboard
  • Pokedex
  • Mobile Tab Navigation
  • Password Strength Background
  • 3d Background Boxes
  • Verify Account UI
  • Live User Filter
  • Feedback UI Design
  • Custom Range Slider
  • Netflix Mobile Navigation
  • Quiz App
  • Testimonial Box Switcher
  • Random Image Feed
  • Todo List
  • Insect Catch Game

If you want to know more about this course you can click “here”, to see the course page in Udemy.

My thought about this course

Basically, I did not like it. Almost from the beginning.

The projects are really awesome which I believe they are created by Florin. All projects are fun, simple but really useful.

The thing I really did not like was about the person teaching the course, Brad Traversy. I did not have any expectation to learn javascript in this course, I just wanted to see how it was used, where, and how in other projects and situations.

But even though I had low expectations, what I did not like was the way he explains everything, it was so fast and with no intention of people to learn or understand what he was doing. I feel all the time he was in a hurry to finish the current lesson to move to the next one and then finish the entire course as soon as he can.

So basically you are just watching a guy, writing a code that probably he has in front of him already and redacting very fast what he is doing. The worst part is what sometimes he just copy and paste a chunk of code and did not explain much about it. How hard could it be to write those lines of code instead of telling us that we can also copy them from some particular website?

I understand that happens all the time when you are coding, but if you are taking a course, it should be different, you shouldn’t have to open another tab to go and search that page or pause the video and copy all those lines. I thought that was too much.

So I did not finish the course, I tried but it was so demotivating. I think I completed more than 30 projects.

I have used some of the things I learned in this course in my own projects but overall, I think the course was a waste of time and I would not recommend it.

Thank you for reading up to here.

I hope you enjoyed!

Top comments (11)

Collapse
 
dnasedkina profile image
dnasedkina

That's unfortunate :(
As you finished 30 projects, looks like you're pretty good at applying concepts even if the instructor is not very helpful.
Hope you will something better next

Collapse
 
maxrpark profile image
Maxi Ruti Park

Yes, it was a disappointment because the content of the course is quite interesting, especially for beginners.
Thank you so much for reading and commenting. I really appreciated it! :D

Collapse
 
soumia021 profile image
soumia021

beautiful

Collapse
 
drwrongmo profile image
Jon Wright

You are correct. Brad is a fast instructor. I've watched a ton of his YouTube content and taken two Udemy courses he's put together.

The pace typically doesn't bother me though, because I don't mind skipping back 5 seconds or pausing.

Personally, I enjoyed this course for the most part. I started learning web development with Angular. I got to a point that I knew my basic JavaScript was missing something, but wasn't sure what. This course filled in the blanks for me.

I don't think it would be a good course for people who need to learn the fundamentals, like variables, arrays and loops...but I thought it was suitable for people wanting to just practices with a bunch of projects.

I'm surprised by your take, but I suppose the value you get will depend on your learning style and what you are hoping to get from the course.

I'd be interested to know if there is another course you've taken that you thought was more well executed?

Collapse
 
maxrpark profile image
Maxi Ruti Park

Hello Jon! Thank you for your comment.

I also think the course is quite good because there are all kinds of projects with a lot of practical uses.

I did not mind he did not explain how forEach or filter works because I knew that was not part of the course descriptions. But in my case, at the time I took the course I used to code along with the instructor, and even though I had to pause a lot because I was way slower than then with Brad was impossible to keep track, that is why it was a disappointment to me. I really felt, that he just recorded the course only to make some money and would not care whether students learn from it or not.

I watched some of his tutorials after that and realized that is his teaching style.

I do I think he is a good teacher for a lot of people and has contributed immensely to the dev community.

But still, I would not watch any of his tutorials or courses if I deeply want to learn about something.

I had taken a couple of Maximilian Schwarzmüller's courses, which I enjoy a lot. They are all very well organized.

And definitely, my favorite courses are the ones created by John Smilga. They are also really well organized, he covers all important topics with great explanations and examples, and later he applies all those bits into very cool projects.

I m currently taking is Node.js course and I would not be happier with it.

I am curious, where did you learn Angular, do you have any good courses to recommend?

Collapse
 
drwrongmo profile image
Jon Wright

I just completed Maximilian Schwarzmüller's SQL course. He is very thorough. That said, I don't know if it was the subject matter, or something else, but I had a very difficult time maintaining focus and interest. I pushed through because I wanted to finish, but it was a struggle. I will say, my experience didn't stop me from buying another course of his.

I learned Angular through a book titled Getting MEAN (second edition). It teaches Node, Express JS, Angular and MongoDB. A few notes I would share before you pick it up. First, it's a bit out of date. There are several bits of code that are deprecated, particularly surrounding the database connection. Secondly, the code through out the boo is riddled with errors. I don't know if that's because they weren't as thorough when migrating code from the first edition of the book, if it was poor writing from the authors, or poor editing from the publisher, but I banged my head on the wall in nearly every chapter. Only to find that the code in the git repository had been updated. The book did explain the content decently, but the code errors took away from that significantly.

I don't know if there are better sources to learn Angular. If there are, I would seek them out. Also, Angular doesn't seem to be as popular these days, so I'd look into learning React unless you have a reason to learn Angular.

Thread Thread
 
maxrpark profile image
Maxi Ruti Park

Yes totally agree with your opinion about Maximilian. I had experienced the same thing throughout some of his courses.

About the book, I can not imagine how hard it could be to learn with materials out of date.

In my case, I don't have any big reason for learning Angular, but after I learned Vue and React I found them quite similar and not that hard to learn, especially after React, so a few months ago I took a look at Svelte and build a couple of small things, just know how it works.

So that is the main reason for my interest in Angular.

I looked at your portfolio, it looks really cool and organized with very interesting projects.

Thread Thread
 
drwrongmo profile image
Jon Wright

I've thought about learning Svelte, because I've heard the developer experience (DX) is quite good. I think I need to do an original project with React before playing with something that isn't as likely to land me a job.

I can't say I have much to compare Angular to other than the e-commerce React course I took on Udemy (by Brad Traversy). Some benefits I do like about Angular:

  • The CLI tools make creating a new component very easy.
  • TypeScript is default for Angular.
  • Angular has much more separation of concerns than React/JSX, or what I've seen with Vue. Each component has three files. An HTML, CSS (or the extension for whichever preprocessor you select) and a TypeScript file. It will bundle all of these at build time for you.

Angular does have a steep learning curve and it can be overkill. It has everything out of the box, but you need to know which components you need. It's easy to forget to import something.

Recently I've been more focused on projects that aren't full stack, just to sharpen my front end skills and have more to add to my portfolio. I've been making simple static single page projects. Instead of using a framework, I've been using Webpack so that I can still use NPM packages, have hot reloads during development, it will compile my SCSS automatically, and it enables you to export JavaScript modules just like I am accustom to with frameworks.

I wouldn't use it for a full stack project, but it's nice when I just want to throw a static page together.

Thread Thread
 
maxrpark profile image
Maxi Ruti Park • Edited

My interest in Angular also relay in the fact that typescript is the default language and about svelte, it only takes you a few hours to catch up on the most important bits and from then you can already start building something, It is really simple especially if you had used Vue before since there are quite similar.

The last part sounds great, I have been feeling that I need to learn how to configure and use Webpack on my own.
I will be looking forward to seeing your next React project!

Thread Thread
 
drwrongmo profile image
Jon Wright

I've got good news and bad news.

Good news: I learned how to use webpack on YouTube.

Bad news: It was Brad Traversy :P

Thread Thread
 
maxrpark profile image
Maxi Ruti Park

I just saw he was two tutorials about webpack and there are less than one hour each, so I may as well watch at least one of them.
I am sure I will enjoy it and I will not feel like writing a bad review.
Let see!