DEV Community

Mayuresh Surve
Mayuresh Surve

Posted on

πŸš€ Day 7: Pizza Restaurant Menu Project πŸš€

This week marked the beginning of my React learning journey. Here's a recap of the concepts I covered and how I applied them in my first projectβ€”a pizza restaurant menu.

Day 1: Introduction to React

  • Key Concepts: Learned about React's history, component-based architecture, and benefits such as reusability and performance.
  • Setup: Installed Node.js, npm, and set up my first React project using Create React App.

Day 2: JavaScript Essentials

  • Key Concepts: Focused on JavaScript fundamentals crucial for React, including destructuring, the rest and spread operators, arrow functions, and promises.
  • Application: Used destructuring and arrow functions in my components for cleaner and more readable code.

Day 3: JSX and Components

  • Key Concepts: Explored JSX syntax and the differences between functional and class components.
  • Application: Used JSX extensively to define the structure of my pizza menu components.

Day 4: Props and State Management

  • Key Concepts: Learned to pass data between components with props and manage state in both functional and class components using useState.
  • Application: Passed pizza data as props to components and used useState for managing dynamic data, like open and closed status in the footer.

Day 5: List and Conditional Rendering

  • Key Concepts: Mastered list rendering using map() and conditional rendering with the && operator, ternary operators, and multiple returns.
  • Application: Rendered the list of pizzas using map() and displayed messages conditionally based on the menu's status.

Day 6: Pure Components and UI Trees

  • Key Concepts: Understood the importance of pure components for predictable outputs and efficient rendering. Grasped how React structures UIs as trees for optimized updates.
  • Application: Ensured my components were pure by avoiding side effects and structured my UI as a hierarchical tree for efficient rendering.

πŸš€ Day 7 Project: Pizza Restaurant Menu

You can find the complete code for the project on my GitHub

pizza-menu-project

How I Applied What I Learned:

  • JSX and Components: Created a component-based structure with Header, Menu, Pizza, and Footer components.
  • Props and State Management: Passed data between components using props and controlled rendering with state.
  • List Rendering: Used map() to iterate over pizza data and render the list dynamically.
  • Conditional Rendering: Displayed different messages based on the availability of pizzas and the restaurant's open status.
  • Pure Components: Maintained component purity by keeping all side effects outside of render logic.

Conclusion

This project was a practical application of the concepts I've learned in my first week with React. It reinforced the importance of component architecture, state management, and rendering strategies in building interactive UIs. I'm excited to continue building on this foundation in the coming weeks!

Stay updated with my progress by following my LinkedIn and GitHub for detailed posts and code samples.

Top comments (0)