DEV Community

Cover image for Top 3 Courses to Learn NodeJS in 2020
Yash K
Yash K

Posted on • Updated on

Top 3 Courses to Learn NodeJS in 2020

Hi, I wish you a happy new year. I hope you will have a great year ahead. If you want to become a Backend developer in 2020, then NodeJS would be a great choice as it is dominating the space of backend development currently.

Let me first talk about why you should be a backend developer. Backend is essential in any kind of application like a web app, mobile app, desktop app, etc. As you can see everything needs to have backend for maintaining so many things under the hood. So I think, it is a great choice to become a Backend developer.

You can become a Backend developer by learning other technologies like PHP, Python(Django), Ruby(Ruby on Rails). But there are many advantages of NodeJS over these technologies. I will not go into details as it is not for that. Probably a topic for another post!

Now, let me walk you through the courses for becoming a very sound NodeJS developer.

1) NodeJS - The Complete Guide (incl. MVC, REST APIs, GraphQL)

NodeJS - The Complete Guide (incl. MVC, REST APIs, GraphQL)

This course is designed by an amazing teacher and experience web developer Maximilian Schwarzmüller. He is one of my favorite teacher. I highly suggest that you should definitely start with this course. This course is packed with great content that starts from level zero to more advanced topics. I personally learned NodeJS by following this course.

You can go to the course by the following link:
https://www.udemy.com/course/nodejs-the-complete-guide/

2) Node.js: The Complete Guide to Build RESTful APIs (2018)

Node.js: The Complete Guide to Build RESTful APIs (2018)

This course is designed by a wonderful teacher named Mosh Hamedani. Mosh is my most favorite teacher. If you want to learn NodeJS fundamentally you can follow this course. It is also packed with great content that includes basics like how node js architecture, how node works etc. It also includes how to built RESTful APIS from scratch. It also comes with concepts like error handling, unit testing, and integration testing. Especially, these testing sections that you would not found generally in other courses.

You can go to the course by the following link:
https://www.udemy.com/course/nodejs-master-class/

3) Node.js, Express, MongoDB & More: The Complete Bootcamp 2020

Node.js, Express, MongoDB & More: The Complete Bootcamp 2020

This course is designed by Jonas Schmedtmann. I have put this course on the list because I have personally watched this course along with the above two courses. And I found out that it should be essential for beginners in NodeJS as well as in Backend development. Because Jonas gives a very detailed explanation about how things work behind the scenes. In general, how NodeJS works, what is event loop in NodeJS and fundamental concepts of how the web works in general. I highly suggest this course if you want to get a better idea about backend development plus NodeJS itself.

You can go to the course by the following link:
https://www.udemy.com/course/nodejs-express-mongodb-bootcamp/

Here Ends, I have suggested the courses that I have personally followed during my NodeJS learning days. I got great values out of these courses. So I hope, You will like it.

Good luck with your journey to Backend development!

Top comments (0)