DEV Community

Moe Long
Moe Long

Posted on

What do you hate about being a developer?

Being a programmer can be a lot of fun, a rewarding career, and offer continued skill development. But what do you hate about being a programmer?

Top comments (16)

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel πŸ•΅πŸ»β€β™‚οΈ Fayard

Working on projects doomed from the start for non technical reasons

Collapse
 
mitchellclong profile image
Moe Long

That's a great answer I hadn't even thought of! What sorts of non-technical issues have plagued projects that you've experienced?

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel πŸ•΅πŸ»β€β™‚οΈ Fayard

Eric Ries tells the story that, before writing the Lean Startup, he worked hard for six months until the 2003 launch of a web-based 3D Virtual World product. When they put the software available for download on their website, it turns out that nobody clicked on the link.

Eric Ries concluded that he could have as well put a fake download link that gives an error HTTP 404 and spend six months on the beach doing nothing.

Collapse
 
egilhuber profile image
erica (she/her)

Shockingly enough, the screen time! Even with taking frequent breaks and a bunch of other eye strain prevention techniques, my eyes are begging me to just stare at the clouds by the end of the day.

Collapse
 
mitchellclong profile image
Moe Long

Oh! That's a really good answer I'd not even thought of. Do you have any means of combatting that, like blue light glasses?

Collapse
 
egilhuber profile image
erica (she/her)

I use 3 techniques: my glasses do have a blue light coating, the Windows night light setting is awesome (set it more intensely than you think - it won't look orange after a couple days!), and I use dark mode everywhere I can (OS settings, themes, browser extensions, etc).

Overall, I'd say the night light setting and using dark mode have the biggest impact.

Thread Thread
 
mitchellclong profile image
Moe Long

Nice! Do do you mind if I quote you in an article I'm working on about what devs hate the most about being a developer? I really liked your answers!

Thread Thread
 
egilhuber profile image
erica (she/her)

That's fine with me!

Thread Thread
 
mitchellclong profile image
Moe Long

Rad! Thanks for that! I'm happy to link to your Twitter, LinkedIn, something like that if you want, and I'll drop a link to the article once it's out.

Thread Thread
 
egilhuber profile image
erica (she/her)

I'm not very active on Twitter (yet!), but my LinkedIn is here

Collapse
 
ganesh profile image
Ganesh Raja

Dealing with People who don't understand tech and expect something impossible to be developed.

Collapse
 
mitchellclong profile image
Moe Long

Have you got any anecdoted about that particular challenge, the techie vs. non-techie chasam?

Collapse
 
natalia_asteria profile image
Natalia Asteria

As a secondary student, balancing school with coding.

Collapse
 
dendihandian profile image
Dendi Handian

I consider this still fun until you got an actual job and people expect something from you.

Collapse
 
natalia_asteria profile image
Natalia Asteria

Yea

Collapse
 
dendihandian profile image
Dendi Handian

Maintaining unmaintainted legacy project.