DEV Community

Mohd Junaid Ilyas
Mohd Junaid Ilyas

Posted on

Long Story Ahead. Please read and give advice.

In 2010, when I was in seventh grade, I joined a computer center and completed a diploma program for a year. I remember being excited when I was first introduced to HTML, mentioned as web design in the prospectus. I didn't know about programming languages or CSS until 2022. Without guidance or resources, I chose Medical, but couldn't get into the field. I graduated in Chemistry, Botany, and Zoology, then pursued a Bachelor of Education and a Master's in Chemistry, finishing my studies in 2023.

I wanted to be a teacher but realized I didn't enjoy it. With resources now available, I learned about web development through YouTube and Udemy. Despite my lack of a computer background, I am determined to become a developer, even while working a school teaching job for financial reasons. My friend, who has a computer background, joined me in this journey.

Seven months ago, we started learning web development and built a website for a friend's business using vanilla JavaScript. My friend did most of the work and has offered to teach me more on our second project. We now have a second client, and I am excited to learn more.

I have been studying JavaScript through documentation, books, and video tutorials, but I am still at a beginner level. Learning is slow due to my non-computer science background, but I am committed to improving by building projects.

We need to complete the project soon, and my friend is doing more work. He deserves more compensation, but we are uncertain about future clients. I help my father with his accounting work, which involves software unfamiliar to him.

I suggested to my friend that we start a side project, like billing software or stock inventory, since many of our accounting clients need it. This could increase our learning interest and provide potential clients.

I lack experience and knowledge on where to start. What advice or motivation can you offer? I will never stop learning and hope to become a good developer, working solely as a developer one day.

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
winstonpuckett profile image
Winston Puckett

My advice would be to look into pair programming instead of starting a side project. I've learned a lot by working with people more experienced than me.

If you start a side project, maybe find something more simple than the projects you're doing with your friend.

Collapse
 
mohdjunaidilyas profile image
Mohd Junaid Ilyas

That's good advice, thanks. Actually I am doing a pair programming with my friend, he help me. And I don't know anyone from my place who is doing this. Trying to find some online, or I am thinking to start a insta, twitter or any other such platform to document my journey. Maybe in this way I will be responsible.

Collapse
 
jenueldev profile image
Jenuel Oras Ganawed

Amazing I like your story. I love that you studied different branches of science good for you, and you also know accounting, that will be useful specially you said your working on inventory or accounting systems. I hope you and your friend enjoy your journey. cheers 🍻🍻☺️

Collapse
 
mohdjunaidilyas profile image
Mohd Junaid Ilyas

Thank you! Yes I have studied different branches of science. Right now I can't start working on inventory or accounting system, because first I need to have a strong foundation of programming or some experience using it and understanding how things work. Which platform should I use for it?