DEV Community

Pasi P.
Pasi P.

Posted on

First post - Who am I?

Quick post about my coding journey, so sorry if text is a bit rough. Currently I'm mainly writing for myself. With that said and you do read my text, I welcome any comments and information that might guide me on my journey.

My university education is in finance, my work is in contract management, my childhood was spent running in a Finnish forest, my current days are spent in Kosice, Slovakia. I'm one who is aiming to switch careers to programming.

During 2022 I started looking for new jobs to be able to return to Finland with my family, but I has having tough luck getting any replies. Even to jobs that seemed to perfectly fitting my work experience. After some months I started to get fed-up with the applications and began wondering what to do. Surprise, I started to wonder about coding. It was September 2022 that I found replit.com and saw that they had just started doing 100 days of Python challenge.

I got started and completed that. Especially in the beginning it was easy, because I found it to replace my love for gaming. Problem solving, seeing results - gamification at its best for me. During that I was also looking for other courses to continue my training and found Zero to Mastery in Udemy, or maybe I first found some Youtube videos mentioning it.. Anyway I started their Python course and went through that from start to finish.

When Replit's lessons moved to teaching about Flask I wanted to better understand the web and how to use HTML and CSS. Therefore I started Zero to Mastery's Web Developer -course in Udemy as I already knew I liked Andrei's (the teacher) style of teaching. HTML -> CSS
Aaaand then I started thinking I want to understand the full process, back-end and front-end. I can go for FULL-STACK!

Then began the JavaScript section of Web Developer course and that is basically the road I am on now.

Whenever I have time I'm doing some studying about JavaScript. With my family life with a toddler, having a full-time job and working from home most of the time things can be very challenging. But I try to get at least a bit every day. I also need to put my skills to work and start seriously training what I have learned.

After finishing JS it is React's turn, then also Node.js. By the end of 2023 I want to be able to say that I can do something real with my skills and I indeed am a full-stack developer.

Till then, and after that:
Image description

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

Hello and welcome to dev.to Community ! 👋🏼😉

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

welcome to the community!