DEV Community

Moneer
Moneer

Posted on

Where Do Cloud/DevOps Folks Like to Hang Out?

Although I enjoy web dev, I am primarily a cloud/devops guy. I have been hanging out here for a few weeks but I don't see a ton of activity around cloud and devops topics.

Wondering where do these folks like to hang out? Anyone interested in trying to grow that community on here with me?

Top comments (16)

Collapse
 
jino93 profile image
Jino pl

Interested ✌️

Collapse
 
moneerrifai profile image
Moneer

Excellent! what is your area of interest/expertise?

Collapse
 
jino93 profile image
Jino pl

Linux / AWS / Ansible , currently learning how to automate cloud infrastructure using terraform.
What you think about terraform + ansible ?

Thread Thread
 
moneerrifai profile image
Moneer

I used Terraform in a previous job and I liked it, although we did not have the enterprise version and keeping state was kind of a pain. For the last couple of years I have been heavy into AWS CloudFormation, because we are an AWS shop so it is a perfect use case for us, but I do need to get back to Terraform. I was actually thinking that I recommend to the team we start investigating Terraform.

Ansible: not much experience.

We do a ton of cloud automation by using CloudFormation + Lambda.

Thread Thread
 
jino93 profile image
Jino pl

Thanks for the insight.my current company not into AWS. They prefer Digital ocean so I use terraform to provision and ansible for configuration. So far no issues.

Collapse
 
j4ng5y profile image
Jordan Gregory

Yeah, I feel like anything other than webdev is less that evenly represented here. I tend to hang out in the kubernetes, cncf, and gopher slacks, but I plan to make a few devops/cloud specifics posts, so I guess I'm helping lol.

Collapse
 
moneerrifai profile image
Moneer

Yeah I am also thinking of good content and posts. Medium used to be a good place to read and write good content, but since everyone left there, I feel that a good replacement has not emerged

Collapse
 
j4ng5y profile image
Jordan Gregory

The paywalling is what made me leave lol

Thread Thread
 
moneerrifai profile image
Moneer

Yeah same here

Collapse
 
ndmacioce profile image
Nick Macioce

Interested too! I also plan on posting some DevOps and Google Cloud specific content soon when I get around to refining it.

Collapse
 
moneerrifai profile image
Moneer

That would be great? Are you a GCP pro? been really interested in their offerings but most of my experience has been focused around AWS

Collapse
 
ndmacioce profile image
Nick Macioce

Not a pro and far from an expert. I did get my Associate Cloud Engineer cert and I do use it a bit in my day-to-day at my current company. Although I've used AWS and still use it for personal projects, I am starting to be more comfortable with GCP's offerings and services. But each has their strengths and better use cases. GCP does have a pretty good "always free" tier and you do get $300 for 1 year in credit for even personal accounts if you sign up.

Thread Thread
 
moneerrifai profile image
Moneer

Nice! I really should open an account and start playing with their services, and that's pretty generous for new users and personal accounts

Collapse
 
loujaybee profile image
Lou (🚀 Open Up The Cloud ☁️)

👋 yeah... kinda feel that I'm one of the only people posting cloud stuff (I'm a mod for DevOps and Serverless). Feel free to message me, I'm already pushing quite a lot out in this space, would be very keen to chat.

Collapse
 
loujaybee profile image
Lou (🚀 Open Up The Cloud ☁️)

As is mentioned elsewhere in the comments, it seems that there are other slack channels etc that seem to be quite active. I could maybe compile a list if you'd be interested in helping out. But most people are not on DEV with regards to cloud. Reddit is fairly active.

Collapse
 
moneerrifai profile image
Moneer

Would also be interested in discussing how to grow this sub-community of dev. Maybe try to attract users from other communities and from twitter? Suggestions welcome!