DEV Community

Ahmad Awais ⚡️
Ahmad Awais ⚡️

Posted on • Originally published at ahmadawais.com on

I am now a Google Developers Expert in Web Technologies!

 

Google has just welcomed me in the Google Developers Experts Program after recognizing my open source work as a web technology expert. As you can imagine, I'm quite happy to have earned this distinction.

Woohooo! 🎉🎉🎉

Google Developers Expert Ahmad Awais
 

😇 The Story Goes Like this...

I worked alongside the Google Developer Relations team back in 2017 hacking together a couple of open source projects. Since then I've got the opportunity to hang out with and work alongside some of the finest engineers in the web industry.

Experts Program

A global program to recognize individuals who are experts and thought leaders in one or more Google technologies. These professionals actively contribute and support the developer and startup ecosystems around the world, helping them build and launch highly innovative apps.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Be a expert in the subject area.
  • Have the ability to articulate clearly and provide meaningful advice to others.
  • Display continued activity in the startup and developer ecosystem, by:
    • Being an influential and recognized speaker at large and small tech conferences.
    • Creating high quality technical content, including: tutorials, code samples, educational books, blogs posts, and videos.
    • Mentoring tech entrepreneurs in designing, developing, and distributing their products.

That's basically how I got the invite from a couple of Googlers and ended up going through the Google Developers Experts interview process. You are first referred by a Googler and then vetted through a fair interview process.

 

🎖 The Badge

I'm a developer advocate for Open Source & JavaScript. You can find me advocating all things F/OSS. Over the years, I've produced 170+ open source projects which are used by millions of developers today.

2019 GDE Web Technologies Badge

So, I had a couple of interviews with a web GDE and a Googler — the rest, as they say, is history. You can read more about the process here. As a form of recognition, the Google Developers Experts also get a badge. I got the one for Web Technologies.

GDE Ahmad Awais

🙌 Howdy! If you'd like to know me better, check out my latest 2018 year in review →

 

🦊 What's Next?

Well, for the most part, it's business as usual. I love the open source and developers are my people. I am going to keep doing what I do as a developer advocate. Building communities and helping developers.

DGE Ahmad Awais

✅ I'm super eager to work alongside the development teams behind Chrome's V8 Engine and the Speed/Perf team that works on making the web more accessible for everyone but especially for the Next Billion Users.

🚀 This GDE programs membership is a blessing in disguise for my work on Progressive Web Apps and the JavaScript SEO issues that I so badly want to address as I work on JAMstack applications with offline support via Service Workers. Has to do with the Mobile First Test using Chrome 42 (I guess).

🤙 I'm going to be releasing seven pretty awesome pieces of open source software (somewhat interconnected) that I've been working on for quite some time now. This is something I am super excited to share.

🗣️ I've several speaking engagements planned throughout the year. With the GDE program, there are going to be a couple more opportunities for me to speak --- especially about web performance with PWAs and JAMstack --- at a few local conferences. Fingers crossed.

 

If you're planning an event that has to do with developers and you'd like me to talk about the cutting-edge web? Then go ahead, read the Want Me To Talk page and get in touch with me.

Peace! ✌️

 

Follow Ahmad Awais @MrAhmadAwais on Twitter →

Top comments (28)

Collapse
 
gabreeyel profile image
Loya Blaise

Congratulations sir

Collapse
 
ahmadawais profile image
Ahmad Awais ⚡️

:) :) :)

Collapse
 
gabreeyel profile image
Loya Blaise

Hope to become a Google developer too. Can u show me the way?

Thread Thread
 
ahmadawais profile image
Ahmad Awais ⚡️

Everything is quite transparent and written here → developers.google.com/programs/exp...

Rest is your work, community contributions, and stuff :)

Good luck.

Collapse
 
rajamuhammadasher profile image
Raja Muhammad Asher

Keep up the good work. Congrats

Collapse
 
ahmadawais profile image
Ahmad Awais ⚡️

Thank you! 👌

Collapse
 
mjraadi profile image
Mohammadjavad Raadi

Congrats man.

Collapse
 
ahmadawais profile image
Ahmad Awais ⚡️

Thank you! 👌

Collapse
 
mjraadi profile image
Mohammadjavad Raadi

I recently started contributing to open source projects and it feels really great. You're accomplishment is truly inspiring.

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

Woohoo!

Congrats, Ahmad!!

Collapse
 
ahmadawais profile image
Ahmad Awais ⚡️

Thank you :) 😇

Collapse
 
hashimlokasher profile image
Hashim Lokasher

Congratulations! <3

Collapse
 
ahmadawais profile image
Ahmad Awais ⚡️

Thanks :)

Collapse
 
juristr profile image
Juri Strumpflohner

Cool man, welcome to the family :)

Collapse
 
ahmadawais profile image
Ahmad Awais ⚡️ • Edited

Woohooo! 🎉🎉🎉

Collapse
 
champi profile image
Champi

Cool! Keep rockin' man

Collapse
 
ahmadawais profile image
Ahmad Awais ⚡️

Thank you! 👌

Collapse
 
k_penguin_sato profile image
K-Sato

Congrats man!!

Collapse
 
ahmadawais profile image
Ahmad Awais ⚡️

Thank you! 👌

Collapse
 
leppercameron profile image
Cameron Lepper

Nice one, Ahmad. Very well done!

Collapse
 
ahmadawais profile image
Ahmad Awais ⚡️

That's very kind of you to say! 🙌

Collapse
 
zhadyrassyn profile image
Daniyar Zhadyrassyn

Cool! Congrats!

Collapse
 
ahmadawais profile image
Ahmad Awais ⚡️

🎉🎉🎉

Collapse
 
zaksh profile image
Zohaib Sharani

Congratulations Ahmad!

Collapse
 
ahmadawais profile image
Ahmad Awais ⚡️

Thank you! 💯

Collapse
 
peterwitham profile image
Peter Witham

Well done Ahmad!

Collapse
 
theodesp profile image
Theofanis Despoudis

Hey great, Can you give insights on how do become a GDE. Thanx!

Collapse
 
ahmadawais profile image
Ahmad Awais ⚡️

I believe everything's mentioned here → developers.google.com/programs/exp...