DEV Community

Michael Tharrington for #music discussions

Posted on

Come and geek out over synthesizers with me!

Calling all keyboardists, bedroom producers, and lovers of weird sounds!

I can stop myself from geeking out over synthesizers. Moog, Sequential, Roland, Oberheim, Korg... the list goes on and on.

cartoon guy in a cape playing a Moog synthesizer

I regularly find myself tuning into YouTube videos of folks playing, testing, tutorial-ing, unboxing, and just generally geeking out over synths.

I'm starting this thread to share my findings and hopefully to find other folks who are interested in this kinda stuff too! So, with that said, what synths are y'all into? Which ones do you have in your personal collection? Watching any synthusiasts on YouTube? Got any synth news to share?

Top comments (9)

Collapse
 
mannuelf profile image
Mannuel • Edited

Looking at this ASM Hydrasynth looks amazing 😍

youtu.be/7XkSZRtKhEc?si=KhYF95JKzp...

Image description

Stimming does great review too
youtu.be/JzuLisp6T_Q?si=8f_m3m2hJ5...

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

Oooo awesome!! This thing looks rad. What a dope synth. 🙌

I'd not seen Stimming's reviews before but I like their style. Good suggestion, Mannuel!

Collapse
 
philiphow profile image
Philip How

I'm not very musical, but love listening to synth-created music and learning about the eco-system.

The YouTube algorithm has blessed me with the Expressive E Osmose, which has some cool features.

I'm also loving the Dirtywave M8 Tracker which looks kinda insane but seems to be super powerful - I would love to get my hands on one!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Currently, I'm learning about the Sequential Trigon 6 in this video. 👇 Apparently, this was synth-maker pioneer Dave Smith's last project before passing on.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Gotta give a shout out to the Fairlight CMI, a pioneering digital sampler/synthesizer. Thanks Australia! 🇦🇺

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Gotta give props to Hainbach... I love the way in which he digs up weird old electronic equipment and makes beautiful lo-fi, experimental music with it:

I create videos on the composition of experimental electronic music. IMPRESSUM: https://www.hainbachmusik.com/impressum

favicon youtube.com
Collapse
 
looprock profile image
Douglas Land

If you haven't checked out 'Look mum no computer' on YouTube you're in for a treat: youtube.com/channel/UCafxR2HWJRmMf...

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Ohhhh heck yes, Douglas!! I'm such a fan of that guy. He's a mad scientist in all the best ways! Gotta love the Furby organ, lol.

Last year, he actually teamed up with Hainbach (whom I shouted out above) and Cuckoo (also amazing!) to create a Youtube synth super group called Uncompressed. Here's their performance!

Collapse
 
looprock profile image
Douglas Land

Thanks for the video!