DEV Community

Cover image for Music Monday β€” What are you listening to? (Summertime Edition 🌞)

Music Monday β€” What are you listening to? (Summertime Edition 🌞)

cover image source: GIPHY

Been a good bit since I've shared music with you all, and I've missed it! So, here I am, coming back at ya with a fresh Music Monday. This one is all about the summer... I wanna hear y'all's favorite summertime tunes whatever that might mean to you. Could be songs with lyrics about the summer, or maybe it's just music that reminds you of summer in some way. And on that note, if no songs are coming to mind, maybe there's an artist, album, music video, or genre that captures the summer vibes for you β€” all are fair game. Whatever reason you have for choosing your summer musical pick, let us know in the comments below!

By the way, I realize this pick is a bit biased to us Northern Hemisphere-ers and this is a worldwide community. 🌍🌏🌎 If it's currently winter by you and you would like to share a winter-focused song, please do it!

Pixel Art animation of a beautiful orange sun setting over the ocean. The sky is pink and there are a few purple clouds floating in front of the sun.


How we do

In this weekly series, folks can chime in and drop links to whatever it is they've been listening to recently + browse others' suggestions. You can follow the suggested genre if you'd like, but don't feel confined to it; you're free to suggest whatever you wanna. πŸ™Œ

If you're interested in having other discussions about music, consider following the aptly named #music discussions organization.


Siked to hear y'all's favorite summer tunes! 😎

Note: you can embed a link to your song using the following syntax {% embed https://... %}. This should work for most common platforms!

Looking forward to listening to y'all's suggestions! 🎢

Top comments (30)

Collapse
 
best_codes profile image
Best Codes

Some of my favorites:

Your browser is deprecated. Please upgrade.Up + Up - YouTube Music

Provided to YouTube by Atlantic Records Up + Up Β· Colton Dixon Up + Up β„— 2024 Atlantic Recording Corporation Vocals: Colton Dixon Mixer: Delbert Bowers M...

favicon music.youtube.com

Your browser is deprecated. Please upgrade.Made Alive - YouTube Music

Provided to YouTube by The Orchard Enterprises Made Alive Β· Citizens Β· Scott Zachary Bolen Β· Brian Eichelberger Citizens β„— 2013 Gospel Song Records Relea...

favicon music.youtube.com

Your browser is deprecated. Please upgrade.What If - YouTube Music

Provided to YouTube by Story House Collective What If Β· Matthew West Β· Lathan Warlick What If β„— 2021 Story House Music, under exclusive license to Provide...

favicon music.youtube.com

Here's a new one I found that I love:

Your browser is deprecated. Please upgrade.Never Too Far Gone - YouTube Music

Provided to YouTube by Centricity Music Never Too Far Gone Β· Jordan Feliz The River β„— 2016 Centricity Music Producer: Colby Wedgeworth Vocals: Jordan Fel...

favicon music.youtube.com

They aren't exactly summer themed, but I don't listen to hardly any music, so my posting options were already limited. πŸ˜…

Collapse
 
best_codes profile image
Best Codes

Most browsers show 'Your browser is deprecated. Please upgrade.' for the title preview.

Ignore it.

DEV's engine for generate embeds probably uses something with a custom user-agent (or none at all), which just confused YouTube.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Haha all good, Best! Appreciate ya popping in with these suggestions. If you're listening to them in the summer, then that's plenty summery enough by my standards, haha!

Collapse
 
best_codes profile image
Best Codes

πŸ˜ƒ Awesome!

Collapse
 
schemetastic profile image
Schemetastic (Rodrigo)

Hey! Good to see you doing another Music Monday, DEV needed this!

I have one song that makes me think of tropical weather, but it also talks about the summer. This song reminds me of a specific part of Tela, Honduras.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

Wow, I'm loving this, Rodrigo! Great suggestion. πŸ™Œ

Paul Bender's voice and style kinda reminds me a bit of Devendra Banhart. Not sure if you're familiar with him but he's got so much good music and some of it's in Spanish too, for instance, check out this tune:

If you wanna hear one of his songs in English, here's an easy-going, sunshiny tune for ya:

Collapse
 
schemetastic profile image
Schemetastic (Rodrigo)

Maaan! This was one of your best recommendations! I'm kinda mad because I didn't knew Devendra before!

I already listened like 4 songs from him, there are two that I really liked:

(This is a collab)

Collapse
 
best_codes profile image
Best Codes

Nice! And I agree. I missed the Music Mondays.

Collapse
 
renancferro profile image
Renan Ferro

Wooow, are you back again?! Niiice

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Indeed, I am! Well, I can't guarantee that I'll make it every Monday, but I plan to drop in at least semi-regularly to kick off a musical discussion, collect some new tune suggestions, and catch up with all you lovely folks. πŸ’š

And on the note of this Childish Gambino track you dropped, I'm soooo freaking glad you suggested this one. Funny enough, it was in my YouTube list earlier and I was planning to pluck it for the thread here. I'm glad you came through with it instead! πŸ™Œ

Childish Gambino is one of my all-time faves! He's actually got a new project coming out this week called Bando Stone & The New World... it's unclear to me if it's a movie with an accompanying soundtrack OR maybe just a soundtrack to a nonexistent movie. Whatever the heck it is, I'm excited for it, haha!

Here are the two things I've seen from it thus far:

Plus, he also re-released an album earlier this year... long story but it has some songs on it that are freaking fire! πŸ”₯

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Got another one for y'all! The album "A Groovy Thing" by Flamingosis... it's just got a sunny sorta feel-good vibe to it. Make sure ya make it to at least the second song, "Don't Lose the Feeling" β€” I love that one!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Got this one on my mind because I just watched the latest episode of Digging the Greats titled "How Jazzy Jeff and Fresh Prince Made The Ultimate Summer Song"... check it out!

Notably, the song they're talking about samples one of my all-time favorite summertime songs "Summer Madness" by Kool & the Gang. This one is just oh so smooth:

Collapse
 
igorrubinovich profile image
Igor Rubinovich
Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Beautiful tune! I'd never heard this one before. I'm kinda getting "The Girl From Ipanema" vibes from it and that's a good thing. Appreciate ya sharing, Igor!

Collapse
 
igorrubinovich profile image
Igor Rubinovich • Edited

the whole playlist is like the next logical step after the Getz/Gilberto album that introduced the Girl from Ipanema, but a being long time fan of Jobim/Getz I just discovered this one myself. If you like it try also "The Stone Flower" by the greatest of all Jobim.

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Oh wow! The same folks are involved, eh? It all makes sense. πŸ™‚

I'll absolutely check out "The Stone Flower" β€” thanks for the recommendation!

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen • Edited

I am listening to some wonderful piano music by blaze's diary 🎹 😊

Collapse
 
best_codes profile image
Best Codes

Interesting!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Oooo this is nice! I really like the solo on top of these chords, lotsa tension.

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt β˜•

Oooh yeah musiiiic Monday! πŸŽ‰πŸ₯³

Collapse
 
sc0v0ne profile image
sc0v0ne

Listening playlist to my friend !!!

Collapse
 
minh_dng_2b8f88c7688fcdb profile image
Minh DΕ©ng

jsound.io.vn/

All my favourite songs hehe

Collapse
 
michalispapamichael profile image
Michalis Papamichael

Hugo Kant - Far From Home (Full Album) - YouTube

4th Hugo Kant Album - released October 16, 2020If you like it, support on bandcamp or spotify! :)https://hugokant.bandcamp.com/album/far-from-homeAll tracks ...

favicon youtube.com
Collapse
 
carlarjenkins profile image
Carlarjenkins

Natasha Bedingfield Pocket Full of Sunshine
https://music.youtube.com/watch?v=SF8OVaA6YNM&si=nh4e99ib4QSdgQjT

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Nice! Totally a feel-good summertime song right here. I mean you got sunshine right there in the dang title, haha. 🌞

Great suggestion, Carla!

Collapse
 
best_codes profile image
Best Codes

Another great one:

Your browser is deprecated. Please upgrade.The Breakup Song - YouTube Music

Provided to YouTube by Curb Records The Breakup Song Β· Francesca Battistelli Own It β„— Curb | Word Entertainment. 25 Music Square West, Nashville, TN 37203...

favicon music.youtube.com
Collapse
 
danbailey profile image
Dan Bailey

"Sunshine" by Atmosphere is definitely my main jam for summer chilling.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

This is some feel-good stuff. Cool music video too! 🌞

Appreciate the suggestion, Dan!

Collapse
 
smits profile image
SmitS • Edited

what a great taste of music you all guys have... I'm just listening to what you all guys are listening to... :)

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Woot! Glad to hear you're digging the tunes, Smit. πŸ™Œ

And I totally feel you... that's exactly why I keep posting this thing. So many good suggestions for music! Who needs algorithms, when you got people-powered suggestions coming your way, haha!