DEV Community

Cover image for Our favourite Spotify Playlist for Coding
Nadine M. Thêry
Nadine M. Thêry

Posted on

Our favourite Spotify Playlist for Coding

Such a random post! But I just felt in the need of sharing my favorite playlists while coding/working. I am always looking for new playlists to boost my productivity and help me focus.

I have recently started working in an open-plan office. This sounds nice, but the ugly truth is that I get constantly distracted by the noise and chatting. So I have bought a great pair of Bose Headphones with noise cancellation, which I found them to be a great invest (quite expensive, but worth it).

On the other hand, I also tend to get distracted by music in my own language (Spanish), and also by pop music. Probably because my brain forces me to sing along.

So, these are my most played Spotify playlist for working:

Tomorrowland Official Playlist
Inception OST
Focus Coding
Pure Mellow Jazz
Orgánica
This is Hans Zimmer

What about you? Which are your favorite playlists?

Top comments (118)

Collapse
 
thelastofcats profile image
Shagit Ziganshin

My favorites:

Collapse
 
jsardev profile image
Jakub Sarnowski

Soundscapes For Gaming are amazing! Thanks! :)

Collapse
 
shafqat profile image
shafqat

Discover a wide range of stylish [url=chonfo.com]men shoes[/url] online in pakistan.

Collapse
 
jedimindbang profile image
GrayJedi

I definitely just added Soundscapes for Gaming. I immediately liked it, thank you!

Collapse
 
daviddalbusco profile image
David Dal Busco • Edited

Post rock or electronica work often well with coding, I'm with you 👍

Collapse
 
artoodeeto profile image
aRtoo

the stop everything is snowing sounds giving me a trans right now. I think I can finish this feature in a week with this music. thanks.

Collapse
 
jlabs profile image
jlabs

I know its not Spotify powered, but I can't get enough of ChilledCow's lofi hip hop radio on YouTube - youtube.com/watch?v=hHW1oY26kxQ

Collapse
 
ljbrehm profile image
Jim Brehm

ChilldedCow has a profile with a daily playlist on Spotify if you want to save some bandwidth stream the radio station. open.spotify.com/playlist/0vvXsWCC...

Collapse
 
nicpolhamus profile image
Nicolas Polhamus

This and Chillhop's lofi hip hop radio are my top go tos for programming soundtracks

Collapse
 
domsbytes profile image
Dom

There is a couple similar playlists now too:

open.spotify.com/user/inner_ocean/...

open.spotify.com/user/spotify/play...

also my go-tos ✌️

Collapse
 
wolfhoundjesse profile image
Jesse M. Holmes

I love this post! Here are a few of mine:

Coding and Crushing It
Jazztronica
Bonobo Radio
Outrun/Future Synth

A co-worker recommended this one late yesterday, so I'm going to give it a try.

Collapse
 
hexangel616 profile image
Emilie Gervais

💜 musicforprogramming.net/
💜
💜
💜
💜
💜
Silence

Collapse
 
gpeto91 profile image
Gabriel Azevedo

words aren't enough to thank you for the first link OH MY GAWWWWD what a experience! love it :) that's my jam

Collapse
 
jazz22638071 profile image
jazz

I'm amazed, I must say. Rarely do I come across a blog that's equally educative and interesting, and without a doubt, you've hit the nail on the head. The problem is something that not enough folks are speaking intelligently about. I'm very happy that I stumbled across this in my search for something relating to this. computerdeskcorner.com/what-is-app...

Collapse
 
sanjiva01060018 profile image
Sanjivani

I regularly visit your site and find a lot of interesting information. Not only good posts but also great comments. Thank you and look forward to your page growing stronger.

Yeh Rishta Kya Kehlata Hai

Collapse
 
bytebodger profile image
Adam Nathaniel Davis

I work from home now. But as recently as a few years ago, I was at a decent-size company in town that moved to a brand new spiffy office building. When they did, they got rid of our cramped, sweaty, stinky "scrum rooms" (that the devs LOVED), and they replaced it with the dreaded "open floor plan". I told them, as soon as we moved to the new building, that you could easily walk around the whole (open) floor and tell, immediately, who was actually doing any real work - they're the ones with the headphones on. They kept crowing about the open floor plan as a harbinger of "collaboration". But anyone who hoped to accomplish their tasks wasn't collaborating with anyone - they were blocking out all the random noise with headphones.

Collapse
 
crimsonmed profile image
Médéric Burlet

I love to listen to JVNA I really like her style.

open.spotify.com/artist/0BMfVLB7t0...

You can also find her mixes on youtube or soundcloud:

soundcloud.com/jvna/light-jvna-mix

soundcloud.com/jvna

Collapse
 
keptoman profile image
mlaj

This is pretty damn good. Russian hardbass.

open.spotify.com/playlist/7k4dTAmR...

Collapse
 
devmount profile image
Andreas

Here's my SoundCloud coding playlist:

Collapse
 
ssimontis profile image
Scott Simontis

Lots of progressive trance, I tune into Group Therapy with Above and Beyond every Friday, I am a bit less consistent with Corsten's Countdown and A State of Trance. Some days I go in a totally different direction and it is all hip-hop, emo, and punk rock.

If I had to leave everyone with one album to check out, it would be Airdrawndagger by Sasha. I consider it the best electronic album ever made.

Collapse
 
niorad profile image
Antonio Radovcic

Music where the bass don't go like "bum bum bum buuum bum bum bum bum bam bum" but more like "buuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuumm" you'll hear what I mean

Collapse
 
edmongarcia6 profile image
Edmon Garcia

I'm not using Spotify but here's what I use to play for productivity.you can also listen to these on youtube:
youtube.com/watch?v=0tBmhSFGTLk
youtube.com/watch?v=MizPu-dTPQU
youtube.com/watch?v=Y5CXeWEuq7I

Collapse
 
khansameer295 profile image
khansameer295

Any slow jazz like Bossonova helps, you can find many tracks on YouTube which are mostly 2 hrs or more . It depends on what I feel like listening, sometimes it's classic rock sometimes its Hans Zimmer or Jon Williams. As long as it helps ;-)

Collapse
 
oscar profile image
Oscar Laureano

I have three principal moods when coding:

  • Designing: I use instrumental music so I can think clearly

  • Researching and Coding: When I have to read documentation, implement and test new things. In that case I like fast tempo music without vocals

  • Only Coding: I already have the designs, the tasks and I know the technology I'm using so I can listen to music with vocals

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.