DEV Community

Niko Heikkilä
Niko Heikkilä

Posted on

Show your own /uses page

Do you ever post a code snippet on Twitter or other social media and immediately get barraged by inquiries about that cool font or editor theme you use? I do. Have you grown especially fond of certain tool(s) and would love to praise their glory to the whole world? I have.

Inspired by @wesbos and @aspittel , I published my own /uses page to explain the tools I use to survive my daily web developer life. Check out my page here.

If this is not yet a movement, let's make it one! Post your own hot /uses page in the comments.

Top comments (19)

Collapse
 
vickilanger profile image
Vicki Langer

What a fantastic idea! Love it! I think it would be awesome if everyone (big and small) did this.

I'll be adding this to my site alongside my /open page. I can see how this will increase transparency and help anyone who's curious to know what makes us tick.

Collapse
 
nikoheikkila profile image
Niko Heikkilä

Thanks! What is the /open page used for?

Collapse
 
vickilanger profile image
Vicki Langer

The /open page is used for transparency in stats, metrics, traffic, and whatever data you collect on your users.

My page isn't up right now, but the /open page is basically a dashboard for the entire site, instead of individual users.

Thread Thread
 
nikoheikkila profile image
Niko Heikkilä

Nice! I'd imagine these would be great programming challenges so you could hook that page to your metrics backend or even provide an GET /open API route which would return the collected data in JSON or other machine-readable format.

Thread Thread
 
vickilanger profile image
Vicki Langer

Hmm. Well, this is above my understanding. Though, I will refer back to this after getting my site up and running.

Thanks for the input. I can kinda imagine how I would build that page now.

Collapse
 
vickilanger profile image
Vicki Langer • Edited

Here's a mock up of my /open page. Now I'm working on a /uses page.

thepracticaldev.s3.amazonaws.com/i...

Collapse
 
matthias profile image
Matthias 🤖 • Edited

As I don't finished my website yet, I simply posted my /uses page here:

You can also add your /uses page to:

GitHub logo wesbos / awesome-uses

Awesome Uses Page

   ▄████████  ▄█     █▄     ▄████████    ▄████████  ▄██████▄    ▄▄▄▄███▄▄▄▄      ▄████████
  ███    ███ ███     ███   ███    ███   ███    ███ ███    ███ ▄██▀▀▀███▀▀▀██▄   ███    ███
  ███    ███ ███     ███   ███    █▀    ███    █▀  ███    ███ ███   ███   ███   ███    █▀
  ███    ███ ███     ███  ▄███▄▄▄       ███        ███    ███ ███   ███   ███  ▄███▄▄▄
▀███████████ ███     ███ ▀▀███▀▀▀     ▀███████████ ███    ███ ███   ███   ███ ▀▀███▀▀▀
  ███    ███ ███     ███   ███    █▄           ███ ███    ███ ███   ███   ███   ███    █▄
  ███    ███ ███ ▄█▄ ███   ███    ███    ▄█    ███ ███    ███ ███   ███   ███   ███    ███
  ███    █▀   ▀███▀███▀    ██████████  ▄████████▀   ▀██████▀   ▀█   ███   █▀    ██████████
███    █▄     ▄████████    ▄████████    ▄████████
███    ███   ███    ███   ███    ███   ███    ███
███    ███   ███    █▀    ███    █▀    ███    █▀
███    ███   ███         ▄███▄▄▄       ███
███    ███ ▀███████████ ▀▀███▀▀▀     ▀███████████
███    ███          ███   ███    █▄           ███
███    ███    ▄█    ███   ███    ███    ▄█    ███
████████▀   ▄████████▀    ██████████  ▄████████▀

Awesome Uses

Collapse
 
nikoheikkila profile image
Niko Heikkilä

Thanks for the tip! Opened a PR.

Collapse
 
alexandersandberg profile image
Alexander Sandberg

Love this idea! Will try to make my own in the near future.

Derek Sivers has a similar approach with his 'now page' movement, but focusing on what you're doing in life at the moment. I love it when I see people using them on their websites. (Here's an example of my own /now page)

Collapse
 
nikoheikkila profile image
Niko Heikkilä

Oh yeah. I have my own /now page as well here. It's very nice although I forget to update it from time to time.

Collapse
 
msamgan profile image
Mohammed Samgan Khan

not completed yet but initiated. My Uses Page feedback is welcome with an open heart.

Collapse
 
matteojoliveau profile image
Matteo Joliveau

That's a very nice idea.
I'll set one up as soon as I get my website back online

Collapse
 
msamgan profile image
Mohammed Samgan Khan

though I tried still I am not able to extract the significance of this page. can you through some light on the personal or public benefits of the same?

Collapse
 
nikoheikkila profile image
Niko Heikkilä

From my point of view, reading these pages made by others is a great resource to learn new tools and techniques. When we follow a common convention in naming they are also easy to find and refer to.

Collapse
 
msamgan profile image
Mohammed Samgan Khan

ohhk that's quite understanding its like PSR for URLs. :P
nice concept. I'll also put a page on my blog. FYI its codebysamgan.com

Collapse
 
rhymes profile image
rhymes

Great idea!

Collapse
 
karlredman profile image
Karl N. Redman

Brilliant!

Collapse
 
haideralipunjabi profile image
Haider Ali Punjabi

Just made this.

haideralipunjabi.com/#uses

Collapse
 
vickilanger profile image
Vicki Langer

Here's a mock up of my /uses page!

thepracticaldev.s3.amazonaws.com/i...