DEV Community

Keff
Keff

Posted on

DEV.to Javascript API Lib? Interested?

I'm thinking of creating a js library for the DEV.to API, as I can't find any library already done. I know I could use the API directly, but I like to have the option to use a library for making quick prototypes and in the end, it can make the code more readable.

I thought of making a post about how this could be accomplished, would any of you be interested?

An if so, what kind of lib would you be interested in, a plain old Javascript lib? a NodeJS one? Both?

Maybe it should be done with Typescript?

If there is enough interest I will create said post!

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
anwar_nairi profile image
Anwar

Definitely in TypeScript :) and if you provide a declaration file it is better!

Collapse
 
nombrekeff profile image
Keff

Okay, thanks for the feedback, I will consider it. Although typescript can generate declaration files for you :)

Collapse
 
zeddotes profile image
zeddotes

I'm definitely interested in this and would love to help. A node.js one makes sense to me, but portable for the browser too.

Collapse
 
nombrekeff profile image
Keff

Yup, I also think it would make more sense for node.js

Collapse
 
nombrekeff profile image
Keff • Edited

Yeah, I would definitely love your help, I was actually considering making a post asking to make this into some kind of OS project that we (dev members) could all collaborate in.

Collapse
 
zeddotes profile image
zeddotes

I guess let's start putting together the desired API for it? Once we have a blueprint for the first iteration, we can start assigning tasks...? Just an idea.

Thread Thread
 
nombrekeff profile image
Keff

Sure, I will create the first iteration myself, just to be able to make the post about it, and then we can start making it better if that is okay with you?

Thread Thread
 
zeddotes profile image
zeddotes

Perfect