DEV Community

Cover image for Planning: How to contribute to an open source project
MizuhoOkimoto
MizuhoOkimoto

Posted on

Planning: How to contribute to an open source project

For the last assignment(we call Release) of my open source course, I decided to contribute to an open source project which is my college's C language course notes. I had 3 Releases so far, and this 4th Release requires something larger and more impactful than anything I have done previously.
Repository: IPC144

Why did I choose this project?

I contributed to the project in my last Release, and also I'm familiar with the course notes as well. Moreover, when I worked on my last issue and pull request, I tried to unify the format with other people's PRs, but people modified in different ways, so I felt unsure.

Issue

The issue I will work on is about "Standardize frontmatter across all pages".

How I will work on it

I have never done standardizing for a project except my own projects, so it's challenging for me, but I will address this issue based on the following points:

  • Read and check all pages
  • Standardize frontmatter
  • Review PRs and request changes based on the standardization
  • Run Prettier and unify the format
  • Try to find and modify to standardize pages
  • Review

My schedule

I started working on it late, but this Release's due date is next Friday(Dec 10th) so that I only have 7 days. Therefore, my plan is make as much as progress as I can until Monday. I will review my progress and write about it here, and make a PR on Tuesday.
I will try to complete this Release, study, go to work, study... no sleep!πŸ’ͺ

(Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash)

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

Nice to see more Junior developers contributing to open source projects.

Collapse
 
okimotomizuho profile image
MizuhoOkimoto

Hi @andrewbaisden ! Thank you for your comment! I was ignorant of open source projects for the first two years of my college program, but now in my third year, contributing to open source projects is a lot of fun to learnπŸ˜„ I've avoided asking for help, but I'm going to change that like you mentioned in your blog! What qualities should a software engineer have?