DEV Community

Cover image for Modernizing File Management with Spacedrive – Is it worth it?
BekahHW for OpenSauced

Posted on

Modernizing File Management with Spacedrive – Is it worth it?

Today is day 14 of my 29 Days of Open Source Alternatives series, where I'll be exploring open source alternatives to proprietary software in the categories of Game Development and Multimedia, Development Tools and Platforms, Productivity and Collaboration Tools, and more. If you'd like to see the list of the open source alternatives I'll be covering this month, head over to my 29 Days of Open Source Alts Page or if you want more open source to learn-to-code programs, check out this list. This is our first post in the Productivity & Collaboration Category.


My first job after college was as a GED (Graduate Equivalent Diploma) instructor. That means that I was teaching people in the United States who had left high school how to pass their GED exam. I do not consider myself an organized person. (See my last post if you want to learn why.) But one day, my department lead showered me with praise for being so organized. And then I thought, "The dirty clothes on my floor at home aren't connected to my organization at work." They held separate space in my brain.

As a person who has held many types of roles in tech over the last five years that I've been here (frontend dev, community builder, DevRel, DevEx), I've also found that the organization in my computer doesn't reflect the disorganization on my desk, and one of the reasons is because technology does an amazing job of setting us up for success. And Spacedrive is one of those technologies that does just that.

One Explorer. All Your Files. Unify files from all your devices and clouds into a single, easy-to-use explorer. Designed for creators, hoarders and the painfully disorganized.

Are cluttered files the equivalent of a cluttered bedroom? Because if so, I'm here for all the help I can get.

Features

🚀 Unified search capabilities
☁️ Cloud storage integration
🗂️ Virtual filesystem layout
✨ Dynamic smart folder creation
🎯 Efficient tabbed browsing
🖼️ Customizable user interface
⚡ Lightning-fast command palette
🌍 Platform agnostic: compatible with Windows, macOS, and Linux

MacOS

As a Mac user, I wasn't super sure why this would be useful. Finder worked just fine, IMO. So I needed to go deeper. Here's what I found:

Given the current state of Spacedrive's development and features, a Mac user may benefit from using Spacedrive because it offers a number of improvements over the existing macOS Finder, including:

  • Unified Search: Unlike Finder, which often struggles with basic searches, Spacedrive boasts a powerful search engine capable of locating both local and remote files instantly.
  • Cloud Storage Integration: Spacedrive enables seamless connections to popular cloud platforms like Google Drive, Dropbox, and OneDrive without requiring extra tools.
  • Virtual Filesystem: Manage multiple drives and locations concurrently with ease using Spacedrive's intuitive virtual filesystem layout.
  • Smart Folders: Organize files dynamically based on custom filters and rules with Spacedrive's smart folders.
  • Tabbed Interface: Browse between different directories efficiently utilizing Spacedrive's tabbed interface.
  • Customizable UI: Fine-tune your visual preferences with Spacedrive's adjustable user interface.
  • Command Palette: Speedily perform tasks with Spacedrive's integrated command palette, giving you quicker access to essential functions.

Open Source Community

⭐: 28.1k
👀 179
Forks: 929
License: APGL-3.0
Commits: Approximately 2.5K+ commits
Contributors: 92 total contributors
Health: 6/10

Spacedrive has momentum with stars, but it would be great to see that health score increase and more new contributors.

OpenSauced Activity Dashboard

Takeaways

I'm currently still in the testing phase of Spacedrive. I think there are a lot of hidden features that I need to access and implement to "keep my room clean." I'd love to continue to see momentum with their contributors. We see a roadmap on their site, but I'd love to see the issues reflected on their repo to have a better idea of what features are ready to be shipped, as opposed to the 8 open feature issues currently on their repository.

What tools do you use to keep your computer "neat"?

Top comments (0)