DEV Community

Pan Chasinga
Pan Chasinga

Posted on

What will you do after retiring from code?

Life isn't all code, but it does take a lot out of life.

Share your deep desire aside from code that you'll likely pursue after you've retired.

Mine: Designing houses.

Architecture by Geoffrey Bawa

Top comments (20)

Collapse
 
rumkin profile image
Paul Rumkin • Edited

I can tell what Iā€™m doing now after retiring from code position: creating the new web.

Collapse
 
pancy profile image
Pan Chasinga

I'm counting on that for my future generations. My child's future is in your hands.

Collapse
 
rumkin profile image
Paul Rumkin

It's a great responsibility. I will be careful.

Thread Thread
 
pancy profile image
Pan Chasinga

Please be.

Thread Thread
 
rumkin profile image
Paul Rumkin

šŸ––

Collapse
 
ferricoxide profile image
Thomas H Jones II

Never really considered it. I mean, I'm one of those people that turned a childhood hobby into a career. And, even had I not been able to make that leap, I probably would have continued to have it as a hobby. I don't know that, just because I give up the daily-grind, I'll ever not participate in technically-oriented hobbies.

Collapse
 
shadowwarior5 profile image
Konstantin Meiklyar

Gardening! :)

Collapse
 
pancy profile image
Pan Chasinga

Yes!

Collapse
 
bolt04 profile image
David Pereira

I think it would be cool to teach all I know and my experience to other coders. Also maybe learn something like making short films and reading booksšŸ˜„

Collapse
 
pancy profile image
Pan Chasinga

Procedural, algorithmic short films?

Collapse
 
thojest profile image
thojest

hmm probably science :)

Collapse
 
pancy profile image
Pan Chasinga

Why not right now?!

Collapse
 
avasconcelos114 profile image
Andre Vasconcelos

Opening a guest house or a coffee shop with my SO would be nice

Collapse
 
pancy profile image
Pan Chasinga

Love the idea.

Collapse
 
xowap profile image
RĆ©my šŸ¤–

Write code for my own projects

Collapse
 
pancy profile image
Pan Chasinga

Why not right now?

Collapse
 
scrabill profile image
Shannon Crabill

Retirement seems far and unlikely....but I'll put that aside for a minute.

I'd love to be traveling or retiring on a beach somewhere.

Collapse
 
adnanbabakan profile image
Adnan Babakan (he/him)

I would travel around the world and code in every country LOL

Collapse
 
zenmumbler profile image
zenmumbler

When I retire from writing code completely it will be because I have moved off this mortal coil so I will just rest.

Collapse
 
morales_eze profile image
EzeM

This is going to sound weird, but I want to take care of homeless cats. Make a shelter or something like that.