DEV Community

Cover image for ChatGPT is my Pair Programming Partner
Dave Wilson
Dave Wilson

Posted on

ChatGPT is my Pair Programming Partner

I've developed a dozens of Python projects that are implemented or hosted on Raspberry Pis or Lightsail servers. My Pi projects are predominately internet of things applications using many sensor and components from Adafruit. The AWS Lightsail applications are all Django projects. I've also developed a couple of Django web servers on Pis.

When I've encountered problems - syntax or logic - I've relied heavily on the Dev and open source community. I can't count the number of times I've searched StackOverflow or GitHub for a solution to my current problem. Thank you!

The downside is that my typical searching effort has been pretty time consuming and somewhat hit or miss.

Now, my first stop is ChatGPT to get help and the experience has been amazing. ChatGPT provides great examples and I can tailor the responses to make it almost a cut-n-paste solution! I now have a pair programming partner that is a language lawyer, tester and strong developer!

I highly recommend adding ChatGPT to your development toolkit.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
christinepinto profile image
Christine Pinto

This article resonates with my own experiences and optimism about the future of AI in programming.