DEV Community

Patrick O'Dacre
Patrick O'Dacre

Posted on • Updated on

This is Me Getting to Know Servers Pt 2

Subscribe to my YouTube channel for more tutorials on working with VueJS and AdonisJS -- an MVC framework for NodeJS!

About This Series

Follow along as I get more familiar with managing my own servers. In this series I'll be using DigitalOcean as my playground and learning how to setup Nginx, MySQL, NodeJS, firewalls, etc.

Covered in this post:

  • Creating your first DigitalOcean Droplet
  • Authenticating with a new SSH key
  • SSHing into the server box
  • Creating a non-root user and some simple security tweaks.

To follow along you can find my server setup cheat sheet on GitHub.

Enjoy:

BuildtoLearn.io

Growing developers need the opportunity to practice taking a full app from zero to production and entrepreneurs need inexpensive ways to test their app ideas.

At Build to Learn I'm producing tutorials and full courses where you can challenge yourself and gain valuable insight into what it's like to build full applications using Vue.JS and Node.JS.

Visit Build to Learn and sign up if you want to keep up to date with tutorials and course releases.

Top comments (0)