DEV Community

Phil Wolstenholme
Phil Wolstenholme

Posted on

What I've been reading (week 44, 2022)

I keep a record of articles, blog posts, videos etc that I've enjoyed this week. Here's a sample of five of them:

Mixing It Up: Remix Joins Shopify to Push the Web Forward

Didn't see this one coming! This is really interesting, good news for Remix's longevity, and interesting implications for the level of adoption of React Server Components vs Remix's approach of route-level data loading on the server.

Don't remove a fence until you know why it was put up in the first place

TIL about 'Chesterton’s Fence'

Open Questions

A list of questions with links to related reading/research. More about bogeys, cats loving human earwax (but dogs not), and furries being "the Quakers of fetishists" than I expected to be reading on a Monday night. See also https://patrickcollison.com/questions

iA Presenter

This looks really cool - write slides in Markdown and then get them automatically designed for you (with responsive layouts and graphics, tables etc). I like how the speaker view becomes a sort of teleprompter-like display.

Holograms, light-leaks and how to build CSS-only shaders

You think, 'oh, I'm a creative person that understands and likes playing with CSS' – and then you see something like this…


I also tweet these as I find them (@philw_) and post them on my personal site at https://wolstenhol.me/#reading.

What were your favourites? Was there anything you found useful?

Top comments (0)